Yet Another Breast Update

One of the issues I had to deal with during the recent ice storm was the fact that I was scheduled for a Wednesday appointment with the breast surgeon–and before that I was to pick up all my films from the mammogram and two ultrasounds from the hospital since my appointment was made after the surgeon’s office had ordered their latest round of films.  I called and made arrangements to pick up the films on Monday night when they had extended hours at the hospital breast center. 

When Monday dawned icy and with a distinct lack of electricity, I decided that picking up pictures of my breast was not high on the priority list for either me or the breast center. Reports on the radio indicated the hospital was running on generator power and accepting only emergency cases, and I wasn’t sure if I would even be able to make the appointment on Wednesday.  But on Tuesday, the doctor’s office called to confirm we were on for the next day, and I called the breast center to find that, indeed, my films were ready.

So yesterday I left work at around 3:30 to go by hospital number one to pick up the films and then on to hospital number two’s women’s health center, where the surgeon offices.  I arrived right on time for my 4:45 appointment, an accomplishment I was quite proud of since hospital number two is not in an area of town I often frequent.  Upon arrival I filled out the abundant forms that always go with seeing a new doctor and then took my place in the lovely waiting room.  I’ll hand it to the surgeon, she’s created a very welcoming decor considering that often people are there to hear they have cancer or to find out what’s going to happen once they’ve gotten that diagnosis.

And I had plenty of time to enjoy that decor.  Did I mention my appointment was at 4:45?  By about 5:15, I was antsy.  I turned to the woman across from me and inquired as to her appointment time.  The answer?  4:00 o’clock.  Not. Good. News.  I finally got in to see the doctor at 6:30.  To her credit both she and her staff apologized profusely for the delay.  Evidently, people had been late all day because of the weather, and they were trying to reschedule people from the days they had no power. 

The doctor did a physical exam and then also did another ultrasound.  This time of both breasts, not only the left.  Then, like the radiologist, she recommended I do a MRI.  I was really hoping for an “all’s well,” but she managed not to freak me out completely.  Essentially, there’s this enlarged duct on the left side plus more distinct lymph nodes on that side as well.  The lymph nodes aren’t enlarged, just more visible than on the right.  That, accompanied by my mother’s breast cancer history, makes the surgeon want to do more testing to figure out what’s going on.  Now the key is getting my insurance to pay for it.

Which was the reason my gynecologist wanted me to see the surgeon in the first place.  The combination of her recommendation, the radiologist’s recommendation, and the surgeon’s recommendation will help on MRI approval.  The surgeon’s office is working on authorization, and I’m expecting to have the MRI some time in the next three weeks.  I’ve got a follow up appointment with the surgeon on January 3rd.  

In order of importance, I’m now hoping for no cancer, insurance approval, Valium for the MRI so that I can combat my claustrophobia, and continued inner peace that this will all turn out okay.  I’d appreciate good thoughts or prayers (if you’re the praying kind) to that effect. 

6 Comments

Filed under Life in General

6 responses to “Yet Another Breast Update

  1. ramblingmom

    You got it.

  2. Prayers coming right to you. When I had that MRI of my head 2 years ago, they gave me Xanax to take the edge off. It worked well. The other trick that got me through the test was putting on the sleep mask (blindfold?) before they slid me into the machine. Also, ask whether the MRI center has earphones thru which you can listen to music — it was a pleasant distraction for me. Good luck!!

  3. Good thoughts for you.

    I’ve had a bunch of MRIs for various reasons, but oddly they never bothered my claustrophobia at all. I felt that I could get out whenever I needed to, so I didn’t need to. At least they are painless. I think any medical test that is painless can’t be all bad.

  4. Oh, how familiar all this transporting of films and additional testing sounds!! Healthy breast tissue vibes on their way. Fingers crossed for that insurance approval. I still laugh thinking about the letter I got approving my surgery – 3 weeks after it was done!! Gotta love those insurance companies (thbththt).

  5. Absolutely.

    I feel good about this for you. The people who do the sonograms have felt enough tatas to have a pretty good gut indication about what is going on.

  6. Susan

    Prayers and good thoughts are headed your way. Hopefully they’ll offer you something to keep you calm during the MRI. They offered me something but I can’t remember what. For my breast MRI I went into the “tube” face down and feet first. Since I couldn’t see the tube, there was no feeling of being enclosed. It was very loud though even with the ear plugs they gave me.

Leave a comment