I Guess I’ll Focus On How I Played The Game

As the old saying goes, “It’s not whether you win or lose; it’s how you played the game.”  And I had my game on last month during NaBloPoMo if I do say so myself.  In fact, this is now a personal best of 44 straight days of posting…All Suburbia, All The Time as it were.  But, yet, alas, I am prizeless at the end of the day. But really, I’m happy for those who won, truly, deeply happy.  Really.

I would not rank today as one of my best ever, though I am certain it could have been much worse if I take the long view of things.  The good news is that the breast ultrasound I had today showed that whatever strange thing is residing in my left breast has not changed in the last six months.  As the radiologist said, “If it were something of major concern we’d see growth.”  Good news.  Then, she said, “But I’m still not absolutely certain what we’re looking at, and your mother had DCIS, so I want you to go to get an MRI. 

This informative site tells me I’ll now have the opportunity to lie absolutely still and face down with my “breast hanging freely into cushioned openings, which are surrounded by a breast coil” for about an hour.  But my doctor can prescribe me a “mild sedative” if I think I’ll be claustrophobic about the enclosed MRI machine.  Uh, yes, I’ll be needing that.  I’m waiting to hear details on the scheduling of this next test from my doctor, but I’ll update here when I have more information.

5 Comments

Filed under Life in General

5 responses to “I Guess I’ll Focus On How I Played The Game

  1. ramblingmom

    When I had my breast MRI I was supposed to lay absolutely still, and not fall asleep — I kept falling asleep. Couldn’t help it. But it was okay (I guess cause I never “jerked” awake).

  2. Good luck with the MRI. A good friend had a similar scare, but it all turned out fine in the end. Pardon my ignorance, but I forget what her ‘growths’ were (yeh, she had several). But, they weren’t cancer and didn’t even require further treatment. Still scary, nonetheless. Hang in there.

  3. I didn’t win anything either…

    I’ve had to have a sonogram before cuz I’m a lumpy girl. Best of luck with the MRI – sedatives should be fun!

  4. Pingback: Almost Finished! « Somewhere In The Suburbs

  5. Pingback: Yet Another Breast Update « Somewhere In The Suburbs

Leave a Reply

