Maybe It Was The Part When My Head Spun Around

I’m not sure which of the things we discussed, either calmly or not-so-calmly, over the weekend actually sunk in, but things are much improved on the teen front.

When I picked Dancer Girl up from a meeting with her science project partners last night, instead of the sullen face and attitude that I’d become far too used to over the past two weeks or so, I saw the happy girl that usually lives around here.  We were able to have a good talk and even joke a bit about the difficulties of the weekend. 

Even better, she buckled down with her studying and did really well on the online review test for science.  She’s also following the steps I recommended to make sure she has all of her assignments and is prepared for the upcoming quizzes and tests she has this week.  At this rate, I’m expecting nice improvement in her grades, which will earn her what she wants:  more access to friends and fun activities.

I know we’ll have to continue to monitor her closely so that things don’t slip back once the restrictions are lifted, but I’m pleased that she responded as quickly as she did.  It’s made our evenings at home much more pleasant.

I’ve even managed to cook dinner two nights in a row and have things set up for tomorrow as well.  It’s a banner week!  Last night we had sticky chicken, rice, broccoli, and crescent rolls.  Tonight was easy with tacos, pinto beans, and nachos.  Tomorrow is beef tips, noodles, green beans and pan rolls.  At this rate, I’m really going to need my trip to the gym tomorrow morning.  Wish me luck–it’s my first meeting with the trainer that Adventure Guy set up for me for Christmas!

2 Comments

Filed under Exercise, Kids, Life in General, Recipes

2 responses to “Maybe It Was The Part When My Head Spun Around

  1. Hi there!

    Stopping by through Oh The Joys site.

    I’m curious what you’ve done to get a good response with schoolwork and homework. I’m having some issues with our fifth grader and don’t want it to get too far away from me.

    Glad to hear you’re in a better place this week.

  2. Samantha

    Yeah, good luck with the trainer

Leave a comment