Rolling With The Punches

5:30 a.m. alarm?  Check.

6:00 a.m. appointment with new trainer?  Check.

7:15 a.m. drive home, legs wobbly?  Check.

7:30 a.m. healthy breakfast inspired by new workout routine?  Check.

7:35 a.m.  wake-up call for Soccer Boy?  Check.

7:36 a.m.  discovery of Soccer Boy’s horrible barking cough accompanied by fever? Uh, I wasn’t expecting that one!

So, rather than heading to work this morning, I’ve been hanging out with Soccer Boy.  His fever seems to be coming down rather than going up, so I’m holding out hope that this isn’t the flu that’s been rampant here.  His cough still sounds bad, so I’m keeping an eye, or in this case an ear, on that. 

I am going in this afternoon because I’ve got an evaluation conference I really need to make, plus I’m in charge of a school tour for the Board of Education tomorrow, and I’ve already had one call today with questions about that.  I want to be sure everything is set.  Fortunately, Adventure Guy can cover this afternoon and tomorrow if necessary.  One of the things I love about his current position is that he can work from home with no problem as long as he doesn’t have client meetings scheduled. 

But for now, I’ve been catching up on a few things around the house and doing some blog reading.  And trying, really hard, not to focus on all the work that will still be waiting for me this afternoon.  If I’d just had a little glimpse of the future, I would have brought home some things to work on.  Where is that ESP when I need it?

2 Comments

Filed under Exercise, Kids, Life in General, Work

2 responses to “Rolling With The Punches

  1. I hate to say it, but taking a sick day to stay with a sick child is about the only way I get to catch up on house work, other than pulling an all nighter, that is.

    I think a bug’s starting to make the rounds here, too. The little ones have been coughing and snotting quite a bit. Aye yi yi!

    Hope Soccer Boy’s up to snuff real soon.

  2. This blogger is someone I know personally so I trust what he says in this post. Check out “A Wacky Remedy” posted January 29th. Let me know if it works! Hope Soccer Boy gets better soon.

    http://suburbanmanarchive.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

