At Least There’s A Rainbow Somewhere

So, I had this lovely bunch of Swiss chard thanks to my monthly farmers’ co-op delivery (and, yes, I had this blog which I rarely bothered to update as of late, but that’s another story). Ordering Swiss chard, especially rainbow Swiss chard, always seems like a good idea. Then, I pick it up, and wonder what on earth I’m going to do with it all.

Fortunately, the Epicurious site contained plenty of ideas for putting my newly-acquired greens to good use. After reading the reviews and checking out the time commitment for each recipe, I settled on Penne Pasta with Swiss Chard for our Sunday evening dinner. When I shared that idea with Adventure Guy, he asked, “Does it have meat?” The answer clearly needed to be “yes,” so I added Italian sausage to the originally vegetarian recipe. I think it would be good either way, but I have to admit I enjoyed the extra flavor from the sausage. I also added some chopped onion and pine nuts to the mix. The recipe below includes my adaptations,

Penne Pasta With Italian Sausage and Swiss Chard
Two links Italian Sausage
1/2 cup chopped onion
1/4 tsp. red pepper flakes
1 Tbs. chopped garlic
1/4 cup pine nuts
1/2 c. water
1 can petite diced tomatoes
1 large bunch rainbow Swiss chard
1 lb. penne pasta, cooked
1 1/2 c. grated Parmesan cheese
salt and pepper to taste

Remove stems from Swiss chard. Rinse and drain, then chop stems and leaves separately. Remove casings from sausage links and cook sausage and half of onions until sausage is well-browned. Drain and set aside in a separate bowl. Retain pan drippings and add remaining onion, garlic, pine nuts, and red pepper flakes to pan. Sauté until onions are transparent. Add half of the water and deglaze pan. Place chopped stems in pan, cover, and cook over low heat for five minutes. Stir and then add leaves. Add salt and pepper to taste. Cover and cook another five minutes. Add drained tomatoes, and sausage to chard mixture. Stir well and cook until warmed through. Add to cooked pasta and stir well to combine. Stir in 1/2 cup Parmesan cheese.Top individual bowls with the remaining cheese.

My family all loved this meal. It was fast and easy, and I’ll definitely be serving it again soon.

And now on to other things…like my lack of posting. I’m not sure anyone wants to read about school budget cuts and the stress of ending the semester in both my work life and my student life. There have been long meetings, longer classes, papers to write. Somewhere along the way, blogging began to feel like that proverbial “one more thing.”

So I didn’t do it. I also didn’t feel guilty about it, hence the lack of the traditional apology for neglecting things here so long. Rather unusually for me, I decided there was no need for guilt regarding something that is intended to be fun.

And, speaking of fun. I have to admit to getting quite a thrill out of my most recent comment. Gabrielle Burton stopped by to comment on my review of her book, Searching for Tamsen Donner.  I appreciate knowing that my words aren’t travelling out into space without any readers, even if I am a neglectful writer as of late.

1 Comment

Filed under Balance, Life in General, Recipes

One response to “At Least There’s A Rainbow Somewhere

  1. Something like this is a staple in our house. My recipe, insofar as there is a recipe, is my own. If I’m out of chard, I’ll do the same thing with broccoli or rapini. If you’re ever in need of more chard recipes, I have quite a few — we had a real overabundance last year. I will be planting less this year!

Leave a Reply

