Going For The Gold (Statue That Is)

Evidenced by last night’s reprise of Wayne’s World on Saturday Night Live, it’s officially “Oscar Season.”  Though I’ll admit that it’s been years since I could confidently watch the awards show having seen each of the best picture nominees, it’s still fun to see how my choices stack up with those of the Academy. 

The expansion of the Best Picture category to ten films makes it harder for those of us who have a few other things going on in our lives to see all of the choices.  And, I have to say there are a few films on this year’s list that I have little interest in viewing.

The list:

  • Black Swan
  • The Fighter
  • Inception
  • The Kids Are All Right
  • The King’s Speech
  • 127 Hours
  • Toy Story 3
  • True Grit
  • The Social Network
  • Winter’s Bone

Thanks to my brother, our favorite “member of the Academy,” I had the opportunity to watch preview copies over Christmas vacation of True Grit and Winter’s Bone.  Yes, though Wayne and Garth note that “this film is not yet seen,” I have indeed seen Winter’s Bone, perhaps the longest shot among the nominees.  I must note, however, that I was the only one of the multi-generational viewing party that liked it.  And that’s a hard fact to admit.  The film is depressing and dreary–shot during a hard winter in the backwoods of the Ozarks–but I admired the young heroine’s dedication to her family’s survival and her refusal to give up even when faced with circumstances that would have crippled people far older. 

I liked True Grit also.  It’s hard to do a good remake, and this one was worth watching.  But, it didn’t rise to the same level as the other films I’ve seen on the list.  Adventure Guy and I actually ventured to the theater to see The Social Network, The King’s Speech, and Black Swan.  By far, my vote goes to The King’s Speech as the best picture of that group, though I enjoyed The Social Network too.  Black Swan lives up to the “psychological thriller” hype surrounding it, but I can’t say I’d like to see that one again.

My goal is to see The Kids Are All Right and Toy Story 3 before Oscar night.  I’ll have to trust the critics on The Fighter, Inception, and 127 Hours, none of which have an intriguing enough premise for me to see.

So, which films are you rooting for this year?

1 Comment

Filed under Life in General

One response to “Going For The Gold (Statue That Is)

  1. freshhell

    I’ve seen two on that list: Toy Story 3 and True Grit. I really wish Get Low was on the list because that was the best movie I saw last year. Really a most excellent movie. True Grit was great – I’m not a big western fan and I really don’t like John Wayne so it could only surpass the original for me and it did.

Leave a Reply

