Cooking Up A Snow Day

I rarely buy into the rush to acquire bread and milk that breaks out each time the meteorologist predicts a little snow or ice in Suburbia.  We typically survive the brief homebound period without incident or extra carbs.  This storm, though?  From the beginning it seemed different–the weather reports more dire, the predicted snow accumulation above average.

So, yes, I went to the store.  I planned ahead for several meals to keep my family full and warm during what people have termed the Snowpocalypse of 2011.  Or maybe it’s Snowmaggedon.

In any event, we’re eating well.  First up was Italian beef and barley soup, followed by my favorite chicken enchiladas, then tonight’s roast sticky chicken in the crockpot. I served the leftover broccoli and rice casserole I froze after Christmas, glazed carrots, and biscuits with the chicken.  Interestingly, the carrots–which I added to mix things up a bit and appeal to the kids’ sweet tooth–did not win anyone over.  I should have gone with our usual plain steamed version.

Not that the kids don’t have a sweet tooth (they get that from their mother).  This whole forced togetherness thing brings out my need to bake.  Since yeast did not make my pre-storm shopping list, my efforts center on the sweet rather than the savory.  We’ve eaten our way through one batch of vanilla bars and half my banana bread, so tonight I figured it must be time for chocolate.  Better yet, time for a chocolate recipe from my childhood–cream cheese brownies.  These are easy, fast, and delicious.

Cream Cheese Brownies

Brownies:

1 box brownie mix

2 eggs

2/3 cup water

Filling:

8 oz. cream cheese, softened

1/2 cup sugar

6 oz. chocolate chips

Combine brownie mix, eggs, and water and stir until just combined.  Line muffin tin with cupcake wrappers and fill each wrapper two-thirds full with batter.  In a separate bowl, beat cream cheese and sugar until smooth.  Stir in chocolate chips.  Place 1 tablespoon of cream cheese mixture in the center of each cupcake.  Bake at 350 degrees for 20 minutes or until brownies are done.

The cupcakes went over significantly better than did the carrots!

1 Comment

Filed under Life in General, Recipes

One response to “Cooking Up A Snow Day

  1. I was glad we went out for extra food this time too. All that shoveling made us HUNGRY. Our snow day menus included buttermilk pancakes, gingerbread (the cake kind), white chicken chili, roast chicken, buttermilk biscuits, and a whole lot of vegetables. There’s something about snow that demands baking, I think.

Leave a Reply

