Books I Read As An Excuse To Drink Wine With My Friends

Each and every time I announce to Adventure Guy that I have my once-a-month book club meeting, he says, “Wait!  Remember!  The first rule of book club is that we don’t talk about book club.” Yes, really.  Every. Single. Time. 

While my book club get together doesn’t rise to quite the level–or the Brad Pitt scenery–of Fight Club, I do love both the chance to read some books I might not have selected on my own and the opportunity to get out to a nice restaurant every month with a group of ladies I enjoy.  Our group provides a mix of both new and long-term friends, and, yes, we meet in restaurants.  Several of the women have small children, and no one wanted the pressure of both finishing a book and cleaning house in preparation for hosting our group. 

In 2010, we read…

  1. The Help by Kathryn Stockett
  2. The Postmistress by Sarah Blake
  3. Olive Kitteridge by Elizabeth Strout
  4. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak
  5. Cutting for Stone by Abraham Verghese
  6. Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen
  7. Unaccustomed Earth by Jhumpa Lahiri
  8. The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson
  9. For the King by Catherine Delors
  10. The Glass Castle by Jeanette Walls
  11. Saturday by Ian McEwen

Yes, there are only eleven titles for the year.  We sometimes get distracted by life and other little details, especially in the summer when kids and vacation plans tend to take time away from reading, or at least from meeting to talk about reading.  Also, I see the makings of a New Year’s resolution in my linking pattern (though I make it a rule not to actually make New Year’s resolutions).  Obviously, I’ve gotten away from doing book reviews on everything I read.  I’m especially surprised at my lack of detailed reviews for Cutting For Stone, Unaccustomed Earth, and The Glass Castle, all of which definitely make my personal favorites list for 2010.

I know a few of my readers belong to book clubs.  What books did your group tackle last year?  What should my group read in 2011?

P.S. If you’d like a chance to win a set of free books for your club, click over to Reading Group Guides  and post your list for last year.  I did, and I’m keeping my fingers crossed until February when they draw the winners!

1 Comment

Filed under What I'm Reading

One response to “Books I Read As An Excuse To Drink Wine With My Friends

  1. Pingback: Books I Read As An Excuse To Drink Wine With My Friends … » Free Online Books to Read

Leave a Reply

