One Down

Ever since Adventure Guy and I married, we’ve alternated between our two families for the Thanksgiving holiday.  So, one year we travel to Texas and the next we celebrate here in Suburbia.  But, this year is different.  Though our schedule typically would have us staying put this year, plans changed when my mom called with news that the woman who spent a year living with my family as an exchange student when my sister was a senior in high school was not only coming for a visit but also bringing along her husband and two children I’ve never met.  Thanks to my mother-in-law’s understanding of the uniqueness of this situation, we’ll be loading up the Suburban on Wednesday and making the trip to Texas for the second year in a row.

When we travel, I have less responsibility for Thanksgiving cooking.  Adventure Guy will deep fry the turkey my mom currently has thawing in her refrigerator, and my brother-in-law will put his chef skills to good use.  But I’m still on for pecan pie and sweet potato casserole, two of my favorite parts of the meal. 

I made the casserole tonight and popped it in the freezer.  This recipe holds up well to freezing before baking, which makes it great for busy holidays. I’ll tackle the pies tomorrow.  This year, I’m considering adding this recipe  to the traditional pecan pie I usually make. 

Also, if you’re interested, find the sweet potato casserole recipe here.

2 Comments

Filed under Recipes

2 responses to “One Down

  1. I made the Beef Barley Soup in the crock pot last night and everyone loved it. YUM!

  2. Darci Dembroski

    I saw that pie on Pioneer Woman this week and thought it sounded excellent. Let me know if you make it…

Leave a Reply

