Recipes, Old and New

I enjoy cooking–at least in a theoretical sense.  What I really enjoy involves putting on a spread for an event or party or whipping up a special dessert.  What I don’t enjoy quite so much is the daily task of putting dinner on the table.  I’ll admit, I’ve fallen down on the job in that capacity lately.

While I thoroughly enjoyed our recent trip to New York, it involved a significant number of restaurant meals. By the time we returned home, all of us wanted one thing–a good, home-cooked meal.  I managed to make a grocery store run in between loads of laundry on Sunday, so we started the week much more prepared to meet the challenge.

First up?  Italian beef and barley soup.  I highly recommend this recipe–a new one for me that I popped in the crock pot yesterday around noon. 

Italian Beef and Barley Soup

1 (approx. 1.5 lbs.) boneless beef top sirloin steak

1 TBS. olive oil

4 medium carrots, cut into 1/4 inch slices

1 small onion, chopped

1 tsp. dried thyme

1 tsp. dried rosemary

1/2 tsp. black pepper

1/3 cup uncooked pearl barley

2 cans (14 0z., each) beef broth

1 can (14 oz.) diced tomatoes with Italian seasoning, undrained

Cut beef into 1-inch pieces.  Heat oil over medium-high heat in large skillet.  Brown beef on all sides and set aside.  Place carrots and onion in slow cooker.  Sprinkle with thyme, rosemary, and pepper.  Top with barley and beef.  Pour broth and tomatoes with juice over meat.  Cover and cook on low 8 to 10 hours or high for 4 to 5 hours.  Serves 6.

The kids and Adventure Guy all loved the soup, which I served with cornbread and salad.

Tonight, having branched out last night, I decided to rely on an old favorite, Chicken Imperial.  This family pleaser was the first meal I ever made for Adventure Guy after we returned home from our honeymoon.  It’s remained in rotation ever since.  I typically serve it with broccoli and crescent rolls.  Yummy!

2 Comments

Filed under Recipes

2 responses to “Recipes, Old and New

  1. Pingback: Blizzard On Tap | Somewhere In The Suburbs

  2. Pingback: Cooking Up A Snow Day | Somewhere In The Suburbs

Leave a Reply

