Your Density Brought You Here

Today, Soccer Boy and I took advantage of the rainy weather to catch a movie.  And not just any movie–a screening of Back To The Future.  Our local movie theater is showing a series of classic movies between now and Christmas and took advantage of the rerelease of this classic.  It’s showing only today and Monday.  Why Monday?  Well, it’s the 25th anniversary of the day Marty McFly traveled back in time. 

And speaking of time travel, I couldn’t help but wonder what the girl who was busy navigating her senior year in high school when this movie came out would think about the woman who took her eleven-year-old son to see it in 2010.  I remember around that same time dreaming about the year 2000 and how I’d be so old by then.  32!  Who could even imagine it?  I certainly couldn’t grasp what it would I’d be like at 42–my own mother’s age at that time.

But here I am. 

While we are distinctly lacking the hovercrafts predicted at the end of the movie when Doc Brown returns to spirit Marty off to 2015, I have to admit I think the me of today isn’t far off from what the me of 1985 hoped for.  I have a husband who loves me and the three kids I always wanted.  Though Suburbia was barely on my radar back then, I’ve made a home in this new city, complete with good friends and a job that never proves boring. 

And, if one of my three kids ever manages to reconfigure a DeLorean to travel back in time to meet that younger me, I hope they’ll tell me things turned out just fine here in 2010.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a comment

Filed under Kids

Leave a Reply

