Since I’ve Been Gone

The Academic Plaza as viewed looking east take...
Image via Wikipedia

So, despite my best intentions, blogging clearly hasn’t made it to the top of my to do list in the past few weeks.  Why is it that when I have the most to blog about, I have the least time to actually write? 

Due to lack of time for better technique, here’s what life in Suburbia held ove r the past two weeks:

  • After picking up our exchange student from China the Wednesday before Labor Day, we took her on a whirlwind tour of our alma mater Texas A & M and then on to my in-laws’ beach house in Galveston.  She enjoyed both witnessing the phenomena that is college football and seeing the Gulf of Mexico.
  • Football continued to play a big role in our lives with the pep rally (where said exchange student and her cohort were introduced to the student body) and our cross-town rivalry game last Friday.  We won in grand style, so this American tradition has made quite an impression.
  • DD1 finds that having “someone else you always have to look after and worry about making sure they get places” is a bit of a hassle.  After receiving a pointed look for that comment from me, she said, “Ya, Maddie said I should never have kids.”
  • Speaking of getting people places, I have now forgotten DD2 twice at cheerleading practice.  She only knows about once, so I’m ahead of the game there.
  • I successfully canned the homemade salsa Adventure Guy made this weekend.  I’m feeling all homey and accomplished.  I might feel even more so if I could manage to make a full meal more often than once or twice per week these days.
  • Soccer Boy jaunted off to his school’s environmental camp for three days this week.  I used my work connection as an excuse to pop in on the last morning.  From that visit, it was obvious that the experience, which relocated this year from its previous home, was quite a hit. 
  • DD1 moved off crutches but into a cast and a walking shoe as a result of her MRI last week.  Diagnosis?  Stress fracture.  She’s doing pretty well with the whole thing, and we’re hoping she gets the cast off in two more weeks.  In the meantime we have something to make fun of her for…see picture of her and her boyfriend below for source of humor.
  • And, last but not least, I survived another weekend of graduate school.  I am two thirds of the way through my sixth class.  This is the first time in the program so far that I’ve run into a professor I’m less than fond of, but I’m sure I can survive one more weekend with her.  That’s the plus of the condensed class schedule.  The downside?  I still have a paper I’ll need to write after class ends, and, because of the structure of the program, this will not be the last time I’ll be working with her. 
  • Our pool complete, though we haven’t had the official turnover due to lots of rain lately.  It is however swimable if one doesn’t mind the fact that the entire fence on the street side is still down.  I mind, so I haven’t swum yet.  The kids on the other hand, do not have the same qualms.  All should be finished next week with the exception of the landscaping which is next up on the list.

I’m sure I’ve missed some highlights–like going to Back to School night tonight and trying to cover both 9th and 11th grade schedules on my own due to Adventure Guy’s convenient timing for a guy’s trip, my struggle to find just the right Halloween costume, and my obsession with Qrank.  But, at least for now, you have all the news that’s fit to print. 

The Happy Couple

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a comment

Filed under Life in General

Leave a Reply

