Meals For New Moms Take Six

One of the topics that generates the most hits here in Suburbia is the “what to take to a new mother” category.  Though, unfortunately, this most recent recipe will be delivered not for celebration, but for comfort after a friend’s loss, it also makes the perfect offering for a new mom, especially one who is fortunate enough to receive lots of meals right in the beginning. 

These little packets of chicken and rice can be made ahead and frozen or served immediately.  I like to make up enough for a couple of meals to take to families who may need to have something on hand that they can just pull out of the freezer and bake.  I usually deliver a package of the frozen microwavable vegetable side dishes and some frozen rolls as well.  That way, a whole meal is ready to go with no preparation needed.

Chicken In a Packet

1 cup raw rice for every four packets of chicken

For each packet:

1 teaspoon butter

2 teaspoons dehydrated onion soup mix

1 boneless, skinless chicken breast

Freshly ground pepper

2 teaspoons butter

2 teaspoons cream

Paprika

Partially cook the rice by halving the amount of water normally used.  On a sheet of heavy aluminum foil, layer the ingredients in the above order, beginning with the partially cooked rice.  Wrap packet tightly and bake for 1 hour at 350 degrees.  Packets can be frozen prior to baking.  Each packet serves one.

5 Comments

Filed under Life in General, Recipes

5 responses to “Meals For New Moms Take Six

  1. Darci Dembroski

    This is a recipe that you shared with me shortly after we both got married. And we made it ALOT those first 10 years…. somehow it went by the wayside. Thanks for the reminder. I just might have to do this again- for old time sake!

    • LSM

      It had fallen off my recipe radar as well until I started thinking about making something both easy and portion controlled for my friend, who now just has herself and one young child to feed. The packets are perfect for that.

      Now that I’ve made it for her, I may just have to make some for myself as well!

  2. Cindi

    I ran across this recipe as I was looking for meals to take to a new Mom. It looks great! How long do you cook it from frozen….or do you thaw it first? Thanks!

    • LSM

      Cindi, I usually put the frozen packets in the refrigerator the morning I plan to bake them for dinner. That thaws them enough to bake as usual that evening (with approximately 10 hours of thawing time).

      • Cindi

        Thank you so much for the quick reply! I am definitely going to make up a bunch of these packets, not only for my neighbor, but to keep in the freezer for my family as well!

Leave a Reply

