Not Too Late For Cake

This summer, I’ve officially entered a new stage in life–the waiting up for your daughter to come home from a date stage.  I don’t much like it on nights like tonight when I have to get up for work the following morning.  DD1’s usual curfew is midnight, which I believe is entirely reasonable for weekends, but it’s not an hour I want to see on a nightly basis.  She, of course, is unconcerned about the lateness of the hour considering that she will be sleeping in, rather than getting up.  Since I’m not comfortable going to sleep before she gets home, I’ll be revising that curfew to eleven for weeknights.  That plus encouraging renewed job seeking now that she’s finished with her daily PSAT prep course.

In addition to waiting around for my oldest to arrive home, I also had the chance to host my in-laws for dinner tonight.  They wanted to see DD2 and Soccer Boy since they’ve returned home from camp.  Adventure Guy threw some steaks on the grill and made his famous french fries.  I roasted some vegetables, and MIL brought along a yummy fruit salad and a cake for dessert.

I was particularly pleased with the roasted vegetables.  I used a yellow summer squash, a zucchini, a sweet onion, and some mushrooms cut in chunks.  I tossed that with two tablespoons of olive oil, a teaspoon of Emeril’s Original Essence, a little salt, some fresh ground pepper, and some chopped rosemary.  After roasting the veggies on a foil-lined pan for 20 minutes at 425 degrees, I had an easy and yummy side dish for the steaks.

But, as good as I though they were, my vegetables could not hold a candle to MIL’s contribution–Trisha Yearwood’s Key Lime Cake.  I loved the contrast between the tartness of the limes and the sweetness of the cream cheese frosting–a personal favorite of mine.  I may have to try this recipe myself, though if I do, I’m likely to bake it in a 9×13 pan rather than making the layer cake version. 

And, now there’s good news—DD1 just walked in, so I can officially call it a night!

Leave a comment

Filed under Kids, Life in General, Recipes

Leave a Reply

