Head Out On The Highway

As of 8:00 a.m. I am officially on vacation!  Adventure Guy and I take off this afternoon for our annual pre-camp-pickup fishing trip with friends.  Said friends actually arrived last night, and we celebrated by joining another couple of mutual friends for dinner at their house.  If I do say so myself, the Swiss chard from the farmer’s co-op and the blackberry ice cream that I contributed to the meal were both hits.  If you haven’t made The Pioneer Woman’s blackberry ice cream, you must, especially with the variation that calls for adding semi-sweet chocolate chunks to the mix!

While our friends left early this morning to head up to the lake and set up their camper, Adventure Guy has to put in a full day of work.  That leaves me with a day of flexibility at home, which is a rare event around here.  So far, I’ve gotten my workout in and made some zucchini muffins and a roasted veggie dip (gotta use up all this month’s farmer’s co-op produce, can you tell?) to take along for snacks.  Next on the list is picking up an audio book from the library, some additional provisions for the lake, and getting a pedicure.  After that, I’ll officially be ready to hit the road!

Leave a comment

Filed under Life in General

Leave a Reply

