Mamma Said There’d Be Nights Like This

It’s the little moments when I realize how easy it would be to become my mother.  And in the spirit of open disclosure, I should admit that, in my case, that wouldn’t cause me much concern. Though I thank the hair color powers that be that I didn’t inherit the prematurely gray gene and curse the fact that her tall, thin traits seem to have flowed right on through me and on to DD1, I’d be happy to have inherited even a little of her genuine goodness and caring for people.

But I wasn’t thinking about that tonight when I had a flashback to my own childhood–my childhood and the moments when my genuinely good, caring mother, said, “You all are going to sit here at this dinner table and talk to me while I finish eating. I haven’t cooked all this to eat it by myself.”

Tonight as my family beat a hasty retreat toward homework, meeting, and work commitments, I couldn’t help myself.  The words came tumbling out, just as they did thirty years ago.  And I was rewarded with some time spent with Soccer Boy who regaled me with the ins and outs of the preparation he and his classmates are doing for the upcoming state writing test.  We talked some strategy; I finished my dinner, and he helped me clean up.

Blast-from-the-past moment notwithstanding, a good time was had by all.

And, for a little added reassurance that hopefully I’m only taking on the best of my mother’s traits, I’ll share the following recipes.  Mom never made anything like this.

Chinese Chicken Stirfry

10 ounces chicken breast

2 Tbs. oil

1 heaping cup cashews

6 green onions, sliced

1 can sliced water chestnuts

6 fresh mushrooms, sliced

Sauce:

2 chicken bouillon cubes

2/3 c. hot water

2 tsp. sugar

1/4 tsp. garlic powder

1 1/2 Tbs. soy sauce

1 Tbs. corn starch

1 Tbs. water

3 Tbs. green peas

Saute chicken in hot oil.  Add nuts, and saute lightly.  Add onions, water chestnuts, and mushrooms.  Dissolve bouillon cubes in hot water.  Add sugar, garlic powder, and soy sauce.  Pour over chicken and saute for several more minutes.  Combine corn starch and water.  Stir into chicken mixture.  Add peas and simmer until thickened.  Serve over rice.

The recipe above, an old favorite here in Suburbia, paired well with a new one from the Tasty Kitchen website.  Try the Asian Dumpling Soup with Vegetables.  It’s awesome, a point agreed upon by the entire group, which is a rarity around here.

Leave a comment

Filed under Kids, Life in General, Recipes

Leave a Reply

