Not Feeling Super

Dare I admit on the day that the nation devotes itself toward consuming large portions of snack foods and alcohol while watching large men propel a ball up and down a field that I don’t actually enjoy professional football?

Give me high school or college football any day of the year.  It’s hard to beat the excitement of a big rivalry game played under the Friday night lights or roadtripping back to my university for game day with 80,000 other screaming fans. But, I’ve never understood the allure of the game at the professional level.  It seems sterile in some way, lacking the emotion inspired by lower leagues.

That said, I’m having difficulty dredging up the inspiration to spend an evening devoted to tonight’s Super Bowl game.  We’ve accepted an invitation to watch the game at the home of one of Soccer Boy’s friends, and the girls plan to go to the annual watch party our church youth group hosts.  But, as of this morning, when I woke up for the third day in a row feeling less-than-spectacular, I decided to send Adventure Guy, Soccer Boy, and my favorite football appetizer*,  to the party without me.

I’ll stay home, nurse my cold, and try to get some reading and writing done for one of the courses I’m taking this semester.  Overall, I’m thinking that’ll make my evening a winner no matter how the game turns out.

*The only negative I see at this point to missing the party is not actually eating any of this tonight.  It’s yummy and always a hit with the guys!

Numero Uno Bean Dip

1 15 oz. can refried beans

4 oz. cream cheese, softened

1/2 c. sour cream

1 bunch green onions, chopped

3/4 c. picante sauce

1 packet taco seasoning

4 oz. can chopped green chilis

1/2 tsp. oregano

salt and pepper to taste

1/2 c. grated Monterey Jack cheese

Combine all ingredients except cheese.  Spread in lightly greased 9 by 13 inch baking dish.  Sprinkle cheese on top.  Bake 1 hour at 300 degrees, covering top loosely with foil for first half hour.  Serve with tortilla chips.

Leave a comment

Filed under Life in General

Leave a Reply

