The Snow Day That Was

To say that for destruction ice
Is also great
And would suffice.

~Robert Frost

According to the weather forecasters, the end was at hand, coming via Frost’s second choice in one of my favorite poems, Fire and Ice.  Since Wednesday, the newscasters focused on breaking weather updates, whipping everyone  into a frenzy of grocery shopping and generator buying. 

Personally, I remain sans generator.  But I do have milk, eggs, bacon, and Coke Zero in sufficient supplies to last us several days.  Oh, and a manual can opener since I realized belatedly during the last power outages we experienced that I’d loaned mine to a neighbor who moved without returning it.  It’s helpful to have a gas cooktop when the electricity goes out but not so helpful if you find yourself unable to open soup and other canned goods to cook on said stove.

I spent yesterday with around 100 teachers while they worked with our literacy consultant.  Most spent the day wondering if we’d make it without releasing students early when the big storm hit.  We checked radar reports and watched the skies.  Then, we released students on time into nothing more than a bit of rain.

By the time I left work at around 5:30 p.m., I did have to scrape my windshield–not an uncommon experience at this time of year.  Thanks to a spate of surrounding districts calling school off and the continuing reports of impending doom from the national weather service, we made the decision to cancel school for today right before I left.  Typically we wait longer, until the transportation director drives the roads around 4:00 a.m. or at least until the time we can announce closures on the ten o’clock news.  I advocated for waiting, but I lost.  We all realized, once our district stood as the last holdout in the area, that waiting simply postponed the inevitable.

But, it seems, what was not inevitable was that whole ice storm thing.  I awoke this morning to Adventure Guy asking, “Why is it you called off school?  Things look fine.”  And, indeed they did.  We had a little ice on the trees, but the roads were only slippery on the overpasses.  We’ve gone to school in much worse conditions. 

I began second-guessing the decision to call school off as well as my own decision to take advantage of the situation and take a vacation day rather than going in to the office (yes, those who make the decision to call school off don’t actually get to stay home on snow days unless we take vacation time).   But, just as I was wondering if I’d be better off heading in to the office, the snow started.

Lovely, constant, heavy snowfall began at around 9:00 a.m. and has continued since then.  We’re supposed to get five to eight inches, which is a lot for us.  The kids are hoping they can sled since the snow over Christmas proved so powdery that it provided little zip for the sledding hill.  And, I’m enjoying sitting wrapped in a cozy blanket while I watch the show outside my window. 

The only question now is whether or not I’ll be spending my Saturday in a graduate class as planned, or if the university will cancel classes as they did last night and today.  At least it’s good to know that we were not alone in our reaction to the anticipated apocalypse.  That and the fact that this snow day does indeed involve snow.

My favorite tree

Leave a comment

Filed under Life in General, Work

Leave a Reply

