Sweet Sixteen

It only took a few hours for me to experience my first, “Oh my God, there’s an ambulance.  Is it DD1?” moment.  Yes, as of 8:30 a.m., our efforts of last summer paid off, and my oldest joined the ranks of licensed drivers.   I lasted until around 5:00 p.m. before that first irrational moment of panic which occurred as I drove home from work.

For some reason, I’m having a hard time wrapping my head around having a sixteen-year-old.  And it’s not the driving thing (which, really, is kind of fabulous in a reduced-carpooling way).  What I can’t get a grip on is the fact that I remember—so clearly—being sixteen.  And even more so, I remember being twenty-five and holding a newborn baby in my arms.  How is it possible sixteen years have passed since then?

But, let’s not dwell on all of that (which may or may not be related to the current state of my hormones and my crow’s feet). What I’m so happy about is the wonderful person my oldest has become.  Her tendency toward pulling together diverse groups of people that I noted as early as first grade has continued right on into high school.  I love the diversity of her friends and their wide interests.  I love her acceptance of others and her kindness toward them. 

DD1 works hard in school and enjoys her extracurricular activities…playing the cello, running cross country and track, and participating in several school clubs and service organizations.  It’s fun to have her around.  Which, when it comes right down to it, makes me understand what I don’t like about this sixteenth birthday.  It brings us another year closer to the time she’ll be spreading those wings even further and leaving home.

So, I think I’ll just think about that tomorrow.  Or even next year.  For now, I’ve got a birthday to celebrate!

Leave a comment

Filed under Kids, Life in General

Leave a Reply

