1950, Anyone?

I’m wondering if God is speaking to me by erasing an email from my “sent” folder.  Because, see, when I returned home from church today, I fired off said email to the youth minister and cc’d the pastor.  And, now, when I got ready to copy and paste some of it right here on this very blog, I discovered it’s gone.  G. O. N. E.  And, I distinctly remember hitting “send” right after I read my carefully constructed words to Adventure Guy.  And, no, it’s not in the “drafts” folder either.

I am left with no option but to wait and see if I get a response to the ghost email.  Writing it again would only guarantee that the original did get sent, making me look like an idiot.  I’d rather rely on venting here rather than risk being accused of double ranting.

After all, who wants to be a double ranter?  Not me.  I want to be that rational person who found herself offended by the youth group’s skit during services today and responded by writing a well-thought-out email to the staff.  We’ll just leave out the part when I held my Sunday school class hostage while I told them all about it.

So, what was so bad about the skit?  The message?  No.  I’m all for remembering that there are more important things in life than making money and career success.  The costumes?  Nope.  They were totally church-appropriate.  Oh, yes.  It was the completely stereotypical depiction of both moms who choose to stay home with their children and moms who choose to work outside the home.

The skit involved the “Game of Life” and began with the kids choosing whether or not to go to college.  One of the girls said she wanted to be a stay-at-home mom and was promptly swept off to a wedding ceremony and handed a baby–no college detour required.  Two of the other girls said they planned to go to college–one to become a doctor and the other to become a writer/professor.  All was well until later when the doctor was depicted telling her child she couldn’t make it to a dance recital, and the writer reported that she’d made it big but at a price that included losing a husband who couldn’t take her focus on work.  But, never fear, the girl who decided to forego college to become a musician hit the big time.

And where were the boys in all of this?  Who knows.  One made a brief appearance during the wedding scene, another as the doctor who stepped in to cover rounds while the first doctor made it to that dance recital, and a third skipped college for a career in sales.  But not one had any lines that indicated their choices impacted their families or their marriages.  Because, evidently, it’s only women who have to give up their opportunity for an education to become good parents and spouses.

I really couldn’t believe what I was seeing at the time it was happening.  Even worse was the realization that the kids had written this script.  It’s 2010.  Do 7th graders really believe it’s a waste of time to go to college if you think you’d eventually like to stay home with your kids?  Do they really think that women can’t be good mothers and wives and still have a career?  If they do, why didn’t those who work with them at church point out the fallacies involved in that thinking?  Or is it that they believe all that too?

On my way out of the sanctuary, I told DD1 and a group of her sophomore friends, “Girls, I just want to point out that you can go to college even if you want to stay home with your kids.  And, also, you won’t be doomed to neglect your children or lose your husband if you decide to keep working.”  Their response?  “Oh, don’t worry.  We’re planning to skip college and become rock stars instead.”

So, at least they get bonus points for humor. 

Adventure Guy skipped church today to live up to his name by taking one of the dogs out to do some bird hunting.  That left me to double check my reaction with my Sunday school class.  Unfortunately, no one in attendance had seen the whole thing since a couple had just come to class rather than attending the service and others had been volunteering in other capacities. 

I explained the general gist of the skit to them, and found myself a bit calmed by the fact that they found it equally disturbing.  It was especially interesting to hear the reactions of two of the men in class, both of whom work reduced schedules from home in order to spend more time with their kids. After I finished talking it over with them and then taking the kids out to meet friends for lunch, Adventure Guy arrived home just in time for me to rehash it all again.

And he insisted I share my thoughts with the youth minister.  I wavered a bit before I cc’d the pastor but decided he needed to know as well.  And, now, I wait to find out whether some sort of divine intervention has stepped in to keep that from going through.  But I hope not.  Because I can’t wait to find out what they have to say.

5 Comments

Filed under Life in General

5 responses to “1950, Anyone?

  1. bu54

    I hope that email really got sent out. That is very disturbing. I’m glad you said something.

  2. Well, divine intervention or not, I think you’d better make sure your message gets through because THAT is one back-asswards message to send to girls.

  3. LSM

    Mystery solved! I found the email in the “outbox” of my non-web-based Outlook. It is now officially sent, but I’m not expecting a response until the offices open Tuesday.

  4. I’m so very glad that email is getting sent!

  5. Pingback: Time’s A Wasting « Somewhere In The Suburbs

Leave a Reply

