It’s A Long Way Down

Remember that old adage, “If you don’t have anything nice to say, don’t say anything at all”?  Does it apply to blogging?  Because so far, I am not liking what 2010 is serving up.  First lots of cold, cold weather.  Second, the seemingly unreasonable requirement that I return to work rather than continue sitting on my bed in the company of good books and easy access to the world wide web via my handy laptop and wireless network.  Third, the fact that work right now is not a fun place to be.

Oh, I still like my colleagues and my work brings me a lot of intellectual stimulation and challenge.  But lately, that challenge comes more and more in the form of horrible financial news from our state.  Budget cuts, and, oh, let’s just throw in a dash of parental dissatisfaction to keep things interesting. Fun times, I tell you.  Fun times.

So, I’ve been writing about seemingly trivial things lately. I don’t really have the words (or often the leeway to share, even in this fairly anonymous way) for how depressing it is to be in the perfect storm of financial crisis. 

I think it’s time for this recession rollercoaster ride to be over.  I’m ready to get off.

2 Comments

Filed under Work

2 responses to “It’s A Long Way Down

  1. Rachel

    Many sympathies on the budget… It’s a little sureal here.

  2. Pingback: The Little Things « Somewhere In The Suburbs

Leave a Reply

