The Decade That Was

When New Year’s Day 2000 dawned, I had five extra five gallon bottles of water stashed in my garage, a little extra cash on hand, and a husband who’d worked more or less around the clock making sure his company didn’t suffer any Y2K glitches.  I was the proud mommy to 8-month old Soccer Boy, 3-year old DD2, and 5-year old DD1, spending  my days working as an assistant principal at All-American High and my nights wrangling all those little ones while Adventure Guy travelled.

Life was good.  It got a little less good in 2002, when we suffered through the first of the telecom downturns following the 9/11 terrorist attacks.  Adventure Guy’s company shut down all operations in Suburbia, leaving him to struggle career-wise for several years.  We weathered the storm, but it taught me never to assume that things would just rock on as planned without any detours.  In many ways, we’re just now fully coming out of that setback–at a time when the economy certainly doesn’t leave anyone feeling overly confident. 

In the meantime, though, those little ones insisted on growing up, despite my objections at times.  My baby is ten, the girls both teenagers.  In another ten years, DD1 will be the same age I was when I had her.  It’s as hard to imagine life with kids who are 20, 23, and 25 as it was to picture raising teens back when I was choosing preschools. By 2020, Adventure Guy and I will be empty-nesters a few years away from completing our college-tuition obligations (we’ll pay for undergrad programs, but grad school is on them!).

The scary part is that I know the next ten years will go by just as quickly as the last ones did.  I don’t usually make a lot of New Year’s resolutions, but this thought prompts me to make one.  Though it’s often hard due to the sheer business of our daily lives, I want to make sure I don’t miss the little moments that make life special. Before I know it, these last two years of having all my children at home will be over. And in 2012, I want to be able to report that we all made the most of that time.

1 Comment

Filed under Life in General

One response to “The Decade That Was

  1. Darci

    I second your thoughts…. I find myself increasingly aware of the numbered days until our oldest is gone.. and the conflicting emotions that brings. But mostly, wanting to make the most of each day! Happy New Year.

Leave a Reply

