Whatcha Got Cookin’?

DD1 just came in and said, “I only washed one pair of socks in the load of laundry I threw in tonight, and now one of them is missing!”

Ah, the mysterious sock vortex, one of the joys of general household maintenance.

One of the other challenges I’ve dealt with of late is the eternal question, “What’s for dinner?”  Generally, I like to cook.  But the daily dinner planning seems to drag me down from time to time.  We’re in a definitive rut here in Suburbia.

Tonight we had beef tips, which fit the bill of being easy, filling, and warm now that winter seems to have woken up and decided to put in an appearance around here.  I served them over rice with green beans and pan rolls.  Just like I did last week.  Hence, the rut.

So, I’m looking for suggestions.  For weeknights, I prefer meals that either can be made in 30 to 45 minutes or put into the crockpot in the morning when I leave for work.  I am also toying with trying some crockpot recipes that need four hours or so on high and asking DD2 and Soccer Boy to start them when they get home from school.

What did you have for dinner?  What should I try next?

2 Comments

Filed under Life in General

2 responses to “Whatcha Got Cookin’?

  1. We actually meal plan several weeks in advance (3, to be precise, because I’m a control freak like that.) I just got so sick of the old “What’s for dinner” refrain!

    I wrote a blog post about our meal planning here:
    http://emzeegee.blogspot.com/2009/06/feed-crowd-dinner.html

    But in the meantime some things which I find help fight the boredome –

    1) I make the kids nominate dinner once in a while, and I agree even if it’s hot dogs and pasta with ketchup.

    2) I dig out a cookbook or two and make ALL the meals in the coming week from that cookbook. It means the dusty books get used and my culinary muscles get flexed.

    and

    3) I ‘pencil in’ a take-out night every once in a while. Give me a break, gives all of us a treat, and I know I have that to look forward to.

    Good Luck!

    Michelle

  2. We’re still working our way through the Thanksgiving leftovers. Last night was leftover turkey and broccoli with a side of sushi (cucumber rolls), which I made for my son, who doesn’t like turkey. Our favorite meal these days is a chicken enchilada recipe from the America’s Test Kitchen Family Cookbook. You can find the recipe here: http://www.seriouseats.com/recipes/2008/03/essentials-easy-enchiladas-recipe.html . It requires some prep time, but you can set it up the night before and can even freeze it before baking.

Leave a Reply

