Open Season

My best Black Friday shopping advice?  Don’t. Go.

My sister and I used to make fun of my mother’s aversion to big box stores.  She particularly loathes Hobby Lobby for some reason, but Wal-Mart, especially Super Wal-Mart, gives the craft stores a run for their money in her book of stores to avoid at all costs. Like I said we used to laugh about that.

But now, I’d rather be almost anyplace else at 5:00 a.m. on the day after Thanksgiving than at one of the stores offering “door buster” deals.  I especially prefer being in bed, fast asleep, at that time–a goal I satisfied completely this morning by managing to ignore the sounds of my small nieces and nephews until almost 10:00 a.m.

Lest my readers believe that I am slacking on the Christmas present front, I should reveal that I have made excellent progress through my list.  I completed shopping for both DD1 and DD2 as well as most of the shopping for my side of the family.  I don’t shop for Adventure Guy’s family, and he usually does most of the buying for Soccer Boy, so the majority of my work is done.  Even better, it’s all been completed from the comfort of my own bed, via the lovely, uncrowded, World Wide Web. 

And, I didn’t even feel like I’d missed out on anything until a friend made this analogy on Facebook:  “Black Friday is like the opening day of deer season for shoppers.” Indeed it is.  Indeed it is.  But I still think I’ll be able to bear up to missing out on that particular “experience” as I watch the lovely packages arrive at my door via that nice UPS man in brown.

Leave a comment

Filed under Life in General

Leave a Reply

