On Second Thought

Today proved a mixed bag sort of day.  The bad began when DD2 arrived in our room around 6:00 a.m. complaining of a sore throat, headache, and stomach pain–a sure sign of strep throat in our house.  We sent her back upstairs and set about calling in her absence and then discussing the need to make a doctor’s appointment when the office opened.

Then I went back to sleep.  Because I’m an excellent sleeper.  A couple of hours later, I managed to accomplish the assigned task of arranging to see the doctor while heading in to one of the good parts of the day–our semi-annual showcase of district programs for the Board of Education.

I love showing off the great things we’re doing at All-American Public Schools.  This fall we highlighted our Chinese language programs as well as our writing initiative, our efforts to meet the needs of struggling students, and our integration of technology into instruction.

Adventure Guy handled the trip to the doctor, which for now has rendered a “no strep” verdict. But something tells my mother’s intuition that the long-term test may show a different result.  DD2 spent the day resting and sleeping and still went to bed early tonight.  No fever during the entire experience, so if she’s feeling up to it, she can return to school tomorrow.

I’ll have to hear the decision from afar, however, because I got on a plane a little after seven to head to a meeting.  The bad news is that I had to get on a plane and leave my family when I’d really prefer being at home this week.

The good news is that this is what the hotel looks like.

houstonian 4

All For Me

houstonian 3

Work area

houstonian 2

Non-work Area

And did I mention that there’s free wireless?  And that my meeting doesn’t start until 11:30 a.m. tomorrow so I’m getting a massage at the spa in the morning?

This trip may not be so bad after all!

1 Comment

Filed under Kids, Work

One response to “On Second Thought

  1. Ooooo…. nice hotel!

    I hope DD2 is feeling better.

Leave a Reply

