‘Tis A Gift

Tonight’s school board meeting rated a perfect score in my book (well, actually, I guess it was on my feedback form).  Though it had its highs (approval of the bid package on an exciting new building project that’s been in the works for several years) and lows (a budget update about the funding cuts predicted for our state), it was sheer efficiency that made it a winner.  We completed our work in one hour and ten minutes, which has to be an all-time best.

And, yes, I’ll admit to a degree of excitement any time I have a shorter-than-average evening meeting.  But tonight, I had reason for celebration when I pulled out of the parking lot.  The bright lights of Soccer Boy’s much-anticipated evening game beckoned from the field, only a few miles from the Board room. I skipped the usual post-meeting small talk and followed the call.

As I rounded the corner from the parking lot, thankful I’d worn chunkier heels today rather than those more likely to sink into the turf, I looked up just in time to see our team score.  Hurrying to the sidelines, I learned that the score stood at 1-0.  Soccer Boy played the rest of the half as goalie, holding on to the shutout.  At the break, he rotated out of goal so he could get some regular playing time.  His sub held strong as well, and the team won 2-0. 

My unexpected opportunity to catch the game made Soccer Boy as happy as it did me.  We celebrated with dinner out and the chance to hear firsthand about Adventure Guy’s experience running the New York Marathon this weekend. Sometimes it’s the simple things that make it a great day. 

 

5 Comments

Filed under Balance, Kids, Work

5 responses to “‘Tis A Gift

  1. That sounds like a lovely day. And also, I wish you’d give our school board some lessons. Their meetings are generally at least 3 hours long and often much longer. Too many people who like to talk more than listen.

  2. Sounds perfect to me too!

  3. It sounds like a lovely day indeed!

  4. Do you give “short meeting” seminars to Southern Baptist deacon boards?

  5. LSM

    I don’t want to mislead anyone. This meeting was far from the norm. Typically, we’re looking at 3 hours or so!

Leave a Reply

