Broken Glass

Should I admit that until today I’ve never made a jello mold?  Though my great-grandmother regularly thrilled me with the productionof a perfect cherry jello and apple mold at every possible holiday (how did she keep the apples crisp?), somehow this particular culinary masterpiece never made it into my repertoire.

And yet, a challenge has been issued.  Tomorrow our church hosts the kickoff party for our fall programming.  And what else could better represent “Faith Formation” than jello?  Prizes will be given.  And if there’s a prize, I’d like to win it.  Not that I actually know what any of the prizes will be. 

I have several chances to win, namely in the categories of most beautiful, most creative, best tasting, and most unusual ingredients. After completing my entry this afternoon, I’m thinking I may have to pin my hopes on “best tasting.”  We’ll see.  At least I didn’t choose any of the recipes I found on line that involved pretzels or cheese in an attempt to take the most unusual ingredients prize.  Seriously?  Cheese?

Hopefully I’ll have a nice picture to add to this post tomorrow.  I’m a little nervous about the unmolding process!

Broken Glass

1 3 oz. package each of cherry, lime, and orange jello

3 cups boiling water

1 1/2 cups cold water

1 3 oz. package lemon jello

1/4 cup sugar

1 cup boiling water

1/2 cup cold, fresh lemonade

1 3/4 cups thawed  Cool Whip

Make cherry, lime, and orange jello the day before serving.  Dissolve cherry jello in 1 cup boiling water.  Repeat with the lime and orange.  Add 1/2 cup cold water to cherry jello.  Repeat with the lime and orange.  Pour each flavor into its own 8 inch square pan.  Chill overnight. 

Early the day of serving dissolve lemon jello and sugar in 1 cup boiling water.  Add lemonade.  Chill until slightly thickened, about 40 minutes.  Cut cherry, lime, and orange jello into 1/2 inch cubes while waiting for lemon jello to thicken.

Blend Cool Whip into lemon jello.  Fold in prepared jello cubes.  Pour into 9 inch tube pan or 8 cup mold.  Chill for several hours until firm.  Unmold and garnish with extra Cool Whip and mint leaves.

 

2 Comments

Filed under Life in General, Recipes

2 responses to “Broken Glass

  1. Darci

    How’d the jello turn out? And did you win in any category??
    The suspense is killing me.

  2. LSM

    I am pleased to report that the unmolding process was fairly uneventful. And, I took third place in the most beautiful category!

Leave a Reply

