Good Morning!

I’m worried that I’m becoming one of “those” people.  The kind of people who get up early and actually do things on Saturday morning.  While I’ve been known to attend more than my fair share of crack-of-dawn swim meets, gymnastics competitions, and soccer and basketball games, that shows my dedication to my children much more than my inclination toward rising early.
Because I like to sleep.  A lot.  When the kids were babies and got up early, Adventure Guy and I traded off weekend mornings so that each of us got the opportunity to sleep in at least once.  We count the fact that neither of us is a morning person as one of the factors contributing to the success of our marriage.  After all, who wants to talk to someone who’s actually pleased to be awake first thing in the morning?

Now days, we do not have to worry about the kids waking us up early.  In fact, I’ve been known to send an emissary upstairs to the girls’ rooms between noon and 1 p.m. to wake them (there is a certain revenge in that, though it would be better if it was earlier).  Even Soccer Boy can be counted upon to sleep until between 9:00 and 10:00 a.m. on weekends.

So what’s the problem?  For the last several weekends, even when I’ve had the chance to sleep, I’ve been waking up closer to my usual 6:30 or 7:00 a.m. time.  And, unlike in the past, I haven’t had much luck getting back to sleep.  The upside is that I’ve had time to do some reading, head to the gym, or even beat the crowds for running errands.  The downside?  Did I mention lack of sleep?  Also, it’s a lot harder to stay up late, which I love, when I get up early.

Today, though, when I found myself fully awake at around 7:30 a.m., I decided to take advantage of the situation and head down to the local farmer’s market, an activity that’s difficult to accomplish when you sleep past closing time!  I found some lovely things.  We’ll be having fresh corn and green beans with roasted chicken tonight for dinner.  The arugula will go great with Cajun tilapia on Monday, and the girls at DD2’s birthday party will surely like the fresh tomatoes for their burgers better than store bought ones tomorrow night.

With buys like this, I may have to get up early more often!

Today's Haul

Today's Haul

1 Comment

Filed under Life in General

One response to “Good Morning!

  1. Darci

    I am lamenting the fact that I, too, am unable to sleep in when given the chance now as well…. It’s one more sign of “old age” unfortunately.

Leave a Reply

