The Get Away

According to the records at the boarding kennel, our Labrador retriever gained 26 pounds this year.  Fortunately, I have not followed suit.  In fact, I actually lost about six pounds this week.  Don’t worry, I’m not on some crazy fad diet.  The loss came entirely in the form of my laptop.

In a bold move, I went on vacation without it.  Okay, I’ll admit this feat would have been even more impressive if I hadn’t had full access to Facebook, Twitter, email, online camp photos, and the occasional blog on my iPhone.  But, nonetheless, I went five entire days without  stooping to tackling Adventure Guy and taking over his computer.

So what did I do with my free time?  Let’s see, I finished the book I took on the outbound flight, read two more while lying by the pool, and got a good start on a fourth during the trip home.  I fit in a lovely hot stone massage and added on a bonus scalp massage and conditioning treatment.  I chose the long road from Scottsdale to Sedona, taking in the amazing scenery and enjoying every minute of uninterrupted time with my husband.  I ate great food on patios across Arizona and sat on the edge of the Grand Canyon during an impromptu side trip.

In short, this vacation was just what I needed.

On The Road

On The Road

4 Comments

Filed under Balance, Life in General, Marriage

4 responses to “The Get Away

  1. OOohh… it SO does wonderful. In fact, you are inspiring me. I’m on a “staycation” right now, but I’m going to shut down ye old laptop after this AM, and give my full attention to the fam. We’ll see how long it lasts.

  2. Pingback: So, What Do You Do Without The Kids? « Somewhere In The Suburbs

  3. Pingback: When Summer’s Gone, Where Will We Be? « Somewhere In The Suburbs

Leave a Reply

