We Don’t Call Him Soccer Boy For Nothing

Today was a day just made to end with pizza, a great beer, and even better friends. I managed to fulfill all those requirements after a very full day of soccer mom duty. 

Bright and early this morning, Soccer Boy and Adventure Guy headed out to the soccer fields for the beginning of tournament play.  I planned to join them as soon as I managed to rouse the girls in order to ensure that they were ready to leave for my in-laws place in the country.  For some reason, they hadn’t been tempted by our offering of three boys U10 soccer games in one day.

My plans derailed briefly when my mother-in-law called to ask me if I’d mind trading cars with them since she’d realized it would be much easier to take our SUV than their car.  Somehow I managed to console myself over the fact that I’d now have to drive her Mercedes convertible for the day.  I know, it’s hard, but someone has to do it.

I promptly agreed, ran over to trade cars, and then made my way to the soccer fields, enjoying my much cooler image all the way.  Though I’d come prepared for the 90-degree temps that the weatherman had been forecasting all week, the 9:00 a.m. game proved to be quite pleasant and plenty breezy to keep us cool.  The boys played well, and Coach Adventure Guy seemed to calm down a bit after his game-day anticipation.

One win under our belts, we adjourned to IHOP for a celebratory breakfast.  Soccer Boy helped me out there by ordering the “Baby Cakes” meal which he promptly traded upon arrival for my short stack meal.  It’s a sign of the times that I’m eating from the child’s menu in an effort at some semblance of portion control, while Soccer Boy is chowing down with an alarming increase in appetite these days.  I can only imagine what he’ll be like as a teen.

After a brief rest period at home, we drove back out to the fields for game two, which turned out to be win number two as well.  We were hitting our groove, as was the sun.  I had to pull out the hat and up the sunscreen applications to get out of that one without a lot more color than I was aiming for, especially this early in the season.

But the boys grooved right on through to the third game, heat or not.  And, much to my surprise, the 5:00 p.m. game proved to be far hotter than the others.  We parents sweated through and still managed to keep our cool as our boys defeated the third team of the day, along with their quite unpleasant (and unsportsmanlike) coach.  It was a good win in more ways than one.

And such a good day deserved an impromptu celebration at the local pizza place, where I, the woman who rarely drinks beer, ordered up a tall cool one and toasted our season and the great friends we’ve had the opportunity to spend it with. 

Wish us luck tomorrow.  Game Four is for the tournament championship!

3 Comments

Filed under Kids

3 responses to “We Don’t Call Him Soccer Boy For Nothing

  1. We have our year end party tonight with our baseball team that has provided us with so many thrills this year. Awesome group of families that I feel privileged to have spent the last 6 years with. Hoping we can squeeze one more year out of it before a few of them head off to high school.

  2. ramblingmom

    You deserve at least a beer after all that. (And yeah — I’d be totally heartbroken if I were forced to drive a Mercedes convertible.)

  3. I need to check in on your blog more often. We spent that weekend doing the same thing. Except I am adventure guy coach and my wife is soccer mom.

    We have 2 girls that both play select soccer so we are always hanging out drinking cold beers and whatnot with our soccer friends.

    They have become our best friends.

Leave a Reply

