Happy Ice Cream Sundae Dessert Day

Happy Memorial Day to all!  We are celebrating both the long weekend and Adventure Guy’s birthday with his extended family today.  I’m a firm believer in multiple  birthday celebrations, so, though yesterday was his actual birthday, we celebrated first on Saturday night with dinner out with friends.  Yesterday was more low-key, though we did do some shopping for the grill he’s wanting for his present.  Today, we’ll grill some steaks and hope for weather nice enough for the kids to christen MIL’s pool for the summer.

Since I’ve been busy preparing for the cookout today, I thought I’d share the recipe and instructions for the ice cream sundae dessert that is a favorite with the folks around here.  It’s actually a recipe from my mom, which is not surprising since all of our family recipes seem to be desserts.  This one is much more appropriate for a Memorial Day celebration than it was for Thanksgiving when I made it last.  However, that’s how much Adventure Guy’s family likes it.  They put in a special request for it at any available holiday.

I classify this one as “easy but time consuming.”  This is not a last-minute type thing.

Ice Cream Sundae Dessert

To begin, set out 1/2 gallon of vanilla ice cream to soften.  I prefer Bluebell Homemade Vanilla for this recipe, but any vanilla ice cream will work.

Ice Cream

Crush 28 Oreo cookies in heavy duty plastic bag.

crumbs

Mix crumbs with 6 Tbs. melted margarine or butter.  Stir to combine.

crust1

Press crumb mixture into bottom of 13 x 9 pan.  Cover entire pan.

crust 2

Stir softened vanilla ice cream a bit and then scoop it out onto the crust.  Spread so that it creates a smooth layer of ice cream.

ice cream 2

Freeze this layer hard, at least three hours. 

rest

Rest.  You’ve worked hard, and you have to wait at least three hours to do anything else with this recipe!  Well, at least almost three hours. About two hours in, go ahead and make the sauce for the next layer.

Combine 2 oz. semi-sweet chocolate, 2 Tbs. margarine or butter, 1 c. sugar, and 1 small can evaporated milk.

sauce 1

sauce 2

Bring the mixture to a boil over low heat, stirring constantly.  This will take a while and eat into your resting time!  Once the mixture boils, remove it immediately from heat and let cool completely. 

Spread sauce over ice cream layer.  I’ve never succeeded in getting this to happen without a little melting of the ice cream layer, no matter how cool the sauce is.  But it’s okay!

sauce 4

Return the pan to the freezer and freeze hard again, preferably overnight.

Next, top the dessert with 8 oz. Cool Whip (my mother’s recipe calls for 9 oz., but there is no longer a 9 0z. size). And sprinkle with pecans.  We only top half the dessert with pecans here because some of the family doesn’t like nuts.  Trust me, though, it’s much better with the pecans.

Freeze again, for at least two hours.  Then, impress your family and friends!

coolwhip

pecans

The finished product, right before I ate it!  It’s better not to ask for a calorie count on this one!

P5250385_edited-1

11 Comments

Filed under Life in General, Recipes

11 responses to “Happy Ice Cream Sundae Dessert Day

  1. ramblingmom

    I think I need to try this — but I think I need to use chocolate ice cream.

  2. OMG – I need this NOW. Without the pecans of course 😉 And the shame of it is that the boys don’t like chocolate! My my my…tragic.

  3. CT Mom

    Susanne is coming for dinner this weekend and I’m making this! 🙂

    • LSM

      I’m so excited to hear two of the August moms will be enjoying this dessert! Think of me while you’re eating!

      • Susanne

        We thought of you while feasting on ice cream. We talked about you. We tasted more ice cream and worshipped you. My hips remember you still. 😉

        It was delicious… thanks LSM and CT Mom!

  4. CT Mom

    I was just about to write you that with the pictures and everything, even I couldn’t mess up. And then I realized that I forgot (I read the recipe early this morning) to do the cookie crust and just dumped the soft ice cream in the pan. You just can’t make this stuff up!

  5. Pingback: Still Thankful « Somewhere In The Suburbs

  6. Pingback: Friday Fill-In | Somewhere In The Suburbs

  7. Pingback: Recipes, Old and New « Somewhere In The Suburbs

  8. Pingback: Holiday Update | Somewhere In The Suburbs

  9. Pingback: I Blame My iPad | Somewhere In The Suburbs

Leave a Reply

