After 37, It’s All Downhill

I’ve had a social media brown out going on for the last few days.  Somehow it’s challenging to fit blogging, twittering, and Facebooking in between facilitating four days of training for district personnel, writing a final paper for my grad class, finalizing all the details for Soccer Boy’s birthday party tomorrow, and attending evening meetings.

As of tonight, I have a Baskin Robins ice cream cake in the freezer and a stack of favors waiting for 13 of Soccer Boy’s closest friends to descend on the bowling alley tomorrow.  I’m waiting to hear from Adventure Guy who, bless him, made the actual party arrangements to find out if I need to pack up some paper goods as well.  I have some on hand from our New Year’s party that match the color scheme of the cake as well, so I’m not planning on buying any either way. 

Can I just go ahead and share how my level of enthusiasm is inversely related to the number of children’s birthday parties I’ve planned and conducted?  As of tomorrow, that count will be 37.  It’s fortunate that Soccer Boy is the last child and much less likely than the girls to be unhappy if the party details are not perfectly planning and executed.  He just cares about his friends, the activity options (in this case bowling, go carts, and arcade games), and the presents.  And, I take solace in the fact that he was just looking through his baby album and spotted the printed invitation to his first birthday party.  By the third time around, I had that whole event down, and his was the best party I pulled off.  I’ll just keep reminding myself of that–too bad he can’t actually remember it!

Adventure Guy is out tonight barbecuing with his team at a local competition.  I passed on joining him so that I could work on my paper.  I’m about two-thirds of the way through it, but, between phone calls and other interruptions tonight, I decided to put off finishing it until tomorrow after the party.  I’ve also got to fit in a little yard work if it’s not raining.  I managed to get my potted flowers and plants in last night (we won’t even discuss the fact that I found the time between 9:00 and 10:30 p.m. to be the perfect time for planting), but I have to do some weeding and plant the annuals that have been patiently waiting since the great flower debacle.  Adventure Guy’s family is coming to our house for Mother’s Day, and I’d hate for them to be greeted by rampant weeds. 

My plan, though, is to be totally finished with all the “must-do’s” by Sunday.  It seems like forever since I’ve had a day just to hang out and relax, and I can’t think of a better day to do that than on Mother’s Day.  So, I’m off to pick  out a lasagna recipe for Adventure Guy–he’ll be cooking!

Leave a comment

Filed under Kids, Life in General

Leave a Reply

