Baptisms and BBQ

As soon as I could possibly slip out of the office on Friday without drawing undue attention to myself, I hopped in the car and made a made dash, accompanied by the girls, to my hometown in Texas.  We’d be joined there by my brother and sister along with their families.  By the next day, Adventure Guy and Soccer Boy had arrived (having waited until after the official news that their soccer games had been rained out Saturday) as had both my father’s brothers, my sister-in-law’s best friend from California, and my brother’s life-long friend and best man. 

The big occasion was the Baptisms of my nephew, my sister-in-law, and my niece.  The service took place at the Episcopal church where we grew up, and where my sister and I both were married.  After the service, we all had a chance to visit with the extended family and friends who joined us for lunch in the Parish Hall.  We ate barbecue, devoured the cake, and generally reveled in the opportunity to be together.

And isn’t that what family is all about?

Leave a comment

Filed under Kids

Leave a Reply

