Shh…I’m Not Really Blogging

So I’ve been know to say things like, “Look, see all of us?  We’re real people ready to talk to you.  You might want to have an actual conversation rather than text,” and, “You know, if you just put things back where they belong in the first place, you won’t have to do a major clean up job.”

And, since clearly I’ve shared these pearls of wisdom with my children as words to live by, I’m wondering how I’ve found myself in the position of having to distract my company by suggesting a game of Clue with the grandkids so I can sneak off to the bedroom to blog, not to mention needing to do significant closet upkeep now that my mother will be staying in our room while Adventure Guy and I are out-of-town the first part of this week.

Yes, my mother and grandmother arrived in Suburbia today, having kindly signed on to stay with the kids until Tuesday.  Adventure Guy left today on his way to the Boston marathon, and I leave tomorrow to speak at a conference in Washington, D.C.  He’ll run on Monday then fly home on Tuesday, and I’ll be back on Wednesday.

Are you tired yet?  Because I am.  I’m tired thinking about the schedule, and I’m tired from getting up earlier today than I typically do on weekdays.  As the alarm blared this morning, Adventure Guy looked at me and said, “There is something really, really wrong with this.” 

But wrong or not, we arrived at the soccer fields by 7:40 a.m. ready to warm up.  I almost typed “bright and early,” but the game played out under cloudy skies and a constant threat of rain.  Rain wasn’t the only threat around, either, as the team we played today proved to be one of the most challenging we’ve met this season.  We ended in a tie–a moral victory since Soccer Boy’s team trailed until late in the second half. 

While I should have returned home to do the aforementioned closet cleanup, I went to the gym instead, taking in a Pilates class and putting in some time on the elliptical machine.  I followed that up with making lunch for the kids, putting in some studying time for my class next weekend, and doing laundry.  Somehow, organizing my shoes just didn’t make the cut today.  Hopefully my mom just won’t look!

1 Comment

Filed under Kids, Life in General, Work

One response to “Shh…I’m Not Really Blogging

  1. CT Mom

    You should have seen us all gathered around MLB.com At Bat on the iPhone last week while at a restaurant. This is what family outings have deteriorated to….

Leave a Reply

