Spring Unsprung

Snowfall on Azaleas

Snowfall on Azaleas

I didn’t really believe the forecast when it said we’d have three to six inches of snow here in Suburbia today.  After all, I’ve been wearing my capris and flip flops for a couple of weeks now.  I certainly thought it was foolish of the university to cancel our class for today as of 4:30 p.m. yesterday afternoon, when all it was doing was raining.  By the time I got home from class last night, the ten o’clock news reports had downgraded the forecast as well, leaving me feeling smug and predicting that I’d awake to nothing more than a soggy yard this morning after enjoying an unexpected opportunity to sleep in.

Instead, it looks like this…

View From My Porch

View From My Porch

The azaleas in the first shot are protected by both an overhang and the Japanese maple that’s also visible.  I’m thankful those maples have proven to be very resilient over the years.  Both the one in the front yard and the one in the back are bent very low to the ground.  It will be interesting to see how the other azaleas fair–they were just in the budding stage when this hit.

It’s still coming down hard and has been since about 9:00 a.m. Fortunately, the roads aren’t bad since for once it really is only snow and not ice.  The plows are running and the streets are clear.  Adventure Guy kindly brought me a Diet Dr. Pepper home from his trip to run one of Soccer Boy’s friends home from a sleepover here.  DD1 and DD2 are both at friends houses, and I plan to hang out today, getting in some of my reading and writing for class so I don’t have to do it later.  Oh, that, and make breakfast for dinner.  Pancakes and bacon sound yummy!

Front Yard

Front Yard

3 Comments

Filed under Life in General

3 responses to “Spring Unsprung

  1. Crazy!!! I wont tell you what it’s like here, but really, almost APRIL and you finally get a real snowfall?

  2. Spring has been wild this year! Thanks for giving us another perspective on it. Hope you enjoyed your snowy March day!

  3. Pingback: What A Difference A Few Weeks Makes « Somewhere In The Suburbs

Leave a Reply

