A New Road

After work today, I went school supply shopping.  I also picked up and dropped off kids at activities, ran by the grocery store, had some dinner, and threw in a load of laundry.  A pretty typical day, right?  And it would have been, if the school supplies were from one of the seemingly endless lists the kids bring home for this or that project.  Instead, the binder, pencil bag, Post-it tabs and brand new spiral, pens, pencils, and highlighters are mine, all mine.

After much delay, I’m going back to school.  Yes, I know, I go to school every day that I show up for work.  But this time, I’m going to be a student for the first time since 1996.  Around that time, having just delivered DD2, I promised Adventure Guy that I would take a break from school.  I’d just earned my masters degree, and he was spending the little free time he had, what with work and a growing family, getting his MBA.  We decided I’d put off pursuing my doctorate until the kids were in school–you know, when it would be easier.

Now suddenly 13 years have flown by and the kids have all been in school for 5 years.  Um, and did I mention that managing them hasn’t gotten any easier.  Or, I guess managing them has gotten easier, but managing their schedules certainly hasn’t. I have to giggle a bit at how naive Adventure Guy and I were when we thought that the most challenging years of parenting would be the infant and toddler years.

So why now?  It’s time.  It’s actually past time, but I’ve been a little busy over the last few years.  The coursework for the program I’m in will take me three years to complete.  Then, I’ll do my dissertation, hopefully finishing that in another year following the end of classes.  It’s hard to imagine that by that time, I’ll have one child  who is a freshman in college, another as a junior in high school, and the third finishing middle school. I want to be sure I manage to graduate before DD1 does!

One down side to this new phase of my life is that it’s likely to cut into my blogging time.  Already, reading an incredibly boring organizational theory text (coupled with my continued lack of a laptop thanks to IT issues) kept me away for most of the week. But I’ll do my best, and I’ll also read as much as possible.  Think good thoughts for me this weekend–it will be  a long one with classes all evening tomorrow, all day Saturday, and all Sunday afternoon!

1 Comment

Filed under Grad School

One response to “A New Road

  1. Good luck! I am guessing it will be like riding a bicycle. You’ll do great!

Leave a Reply

