A New Leaf

As we pulled into the driveway after church this morning, I noticed just the tiniest beginnings of leaves on the pear trees in our side yard.  Could it possibly be they are celebrating the first day of March, just like I am?

With daylight savings time starting next week and temperatures forecast to be near 80 degrees by Thursday, I have hopes that Spring really is just around the corner.  And I am so tired of winter, that I hope nature isn’t just toying with me.

While I complained about going to Wisconsin in February and dealing with scraping ice off my windshield there, I returned home only to learn that it was only a few degrees warmer here in Suburbia.  No ice, fortunately, but still a definitive need for sweaters and my winter coat.

I’m just hopeful that this doesn’t prove to be a cold Spring like our first one here, when I wore a jacket well into May.  Of course, that could partly be blamed on the obvious thinning of my blood during the six prior years when we lived in Houston.  I can remember complaining to Adventure Guy that he didn’t tell me winter would last so long here!

Regardless, I’ve decided to focus on having a positive outlook.  I plan to turn over a new leaf, just as the trees are.  We’ve been so busy, life just seems to spin by somewhat out-of-control at times.  I typically pride myself on putting a nice dinner on the table for the family more nights than not, but right now I can’t remember the last time I cooked a meal (though that problem is to be remedied tonight). I miss that time together dinner provides, and eating out or picking up dinner obviously wreaks havoc on both the wallet and the waistline.

This month, my goal is to get that meal planning and grocery shopping taken care of on a more regular basis and to make sure we’re eating together at least four times per week.  We’ll see how that goes this week with board meetings for both All-American Public Schools and Junior League for me, the onset of driver’s ed after school for DD1, dance sqad clinic and try outs for DD2, and the start of soccer season and a major school project deadline for Soccer Boy.  I can hope, can’t I?

1 Comment

Filed under Kids, Life in General

One response to “A New Leaf

  1. Pingback: Not So Small « Somewhere In The Suburbs

Leave a Reply

