I Guess I’m Random After All

So, this 25 Random Things About Me thing has been floating around Facebook, where I was tagged by multiple people before finally giving in and writing it up last night. 

Since I’ve been busy and less-than-motivated on the blogging front, I thought I’d share here as well.  I, however, will not be tagging twenty-five people to share as also intructed.  If you want to play, consider yourself tagged.

  1. I did not intend to write even one random fact about me, but I have given in to peer pressure.
  2. I rarely give in to peer pressure. A good example of this is the time I sat and waited for my friends by myself for a loooong time rather than ride one of those rides that drops you from multiple stories in the air. A high school kid called me “ma’am” when I asked him how long he’d waited in line as he passed me on his way out. I was a senior in college at the time.
  3. I am actually not afraid of heights in general–just being dropped from heights.
  4. Except I did rappel down from the top of the high school’s performing arts center once. I was so scared by the trip up the utility ladder that the way down didn’t seem bad at all.
  5. I love number patterns in real life. Like 06-07-08, or 11:11 p.m. I can’t wait until 11:11 on 11-11-11. What could be better? Well, maybe if I knew someone who would be eleven on that day. But I don’t.
  6. Speaking of patterns, if I am eating candy that’s colored I like to group the pieces by color and then eat them in order so that I have the same number of each color. I was doing this once at work when the psychology teacher walked in and gave me a really strange look. I have no idea why!
  7. I swore I would never be a teacher. I taught for eight years and have been in school administration for nine. And I love it.
  8. I lived in Texas my entire life until I got married and moved to Ponca City, Oklahoma. When we moved back to Texas nine months later, I thought I’d never leave again. We moved to Suburbia six years after that. and twelve years later I can’t imagine living anywhere else.
  9. Nonetheless, I will always be a Texan.
  10.  I have awarded myself extra credit for moving to Ponca City in the first place. I think it shows true dedication to my husband.
  11. I like awarding myself extra credit and do so liberally.
  12. Speaking of liberally, it’s hard to be liberal when you live in the one of the reddest states in the nation.
  13. I’m proud to say I have overcome that challenge and continue to befuddle the poll volunteers when they have to look up Adventure Guy and me in two different party books.
  14. My sister mentioned in her “25 Things” post that we have very little drama in our extended family. She is so right. Adventure Guy once said to me, “Oh, well, no one has a normal family.” Then he paused and said, “Well, except for you.” Fortunately, I think he and I are also creating a normal family here at our house.
  15. I always wanted to have three children, just like in my family growing up. Though they are in a bit different order, I have two girls and a boy, just like my parents did. I didn’t feel at all “finished” after our second child, but I did after our third. It’s nice to be right about things like that!
  16. In general, it’s nice to be right, period. I probably like to be right too much. I especially dislike it if I know I’m right and people insist on continuing to argue with me.
  17. I also hate to be interrupted. Especially when I’m busy proving that I’m right. Just ask Adventure Guy.
  18. I find people are generally amused when it is revealed I was a twirler in high school. Not that I go around randomly bringing it up. But when it does come up, I tell them we twirlers prefer the term, “majorette.” And, no, I didn’t twirl fire.
  19. I love to go to school, which is why I’m about to start a doctoral program even though I know it will be tough getting back into the student side of academia. I find it hard to believe it’s been 13 years since I got my masters degree.
  20. I thought it would be easier to go back for my doctorate once all the kids were in school. Now I can’t believe how naive that was.
  21. We have a huge year at a glance calendar in the laundry room where all family commitments must be logged. Adventure Guy and I also sync our calendars periodically. Otherwise, people don’t get where they need to go. And, with three kids all in multiple activities, people around here have lots of places to go.
  22. I never strongly considered being a stay at home mom. When I taught, my summers off provided just enough time for me to realize I made the right decision to keep working. I used to feel guilty about that, but now I don’t.
  23. Part of the reason for that may be that I am enjoying being a mother now more than at any time in the past. I loved my kids as babies and toddlers, but I really like the interactions we have now that they are preteens and teens. Yes, really.
  24. Some of my best friends are ones I met online as part of my August 1996 birth list listserve. We’ve been emailing each other since 1995 when we were all pregnant and due the next August. Since then we’ve met several times in person. I used to hesitate to tell people this because they often reacted with amazement that I had gone to meet people I didn’t “know.” That’s changed a lot since social networking has become more common.
  25. I am thankful every day that I was smart enough at 22 years old to marry Adventure Guy. It’s been a great 19 years so far, and I’m looking forward to the next 50 or so as well. Don’t laugh. With our family histories and the ages we were when we married, 70 years is not really pushing it.
6 Comments

Filed under Life in General

6 responses to “I Guess I’m Random After All

  1. Hah! I do #6 too. At the next reunion we should eat some M&Ms together and freak out the other gals with our orderly methods 🙂

  2. Gotta agree on #5. I love when it’s 12:34. And I celebrated recently when my odometer hit 55,555–that was a big day. But I hadn’t even considered the future glory of 11:11 on 11/11/11. I’m going to have to mark my calendar.

  3. Love your list! My mother and my younger daughter are very attuned to numbers — they each log in odd microwave times (1:34 instead of 1:30) and can never leave the gas pump at a round number. I never even notice numbers.

  4. Pingback: Random x 25 = Me « Add It To The List

  5. Pingback: LSM Is Open For Questions « Somewhere In The Suburbs

Leave a Reply

