It Was Such A Good Plan

Today I left the ice and snow currently on the ground in Suburbia and jetted off to Houston, Texas, for a meeting.  I expected warmth.  It’s 40 degrees here–40, humid, cold degrees.  I swear, you haven’t felt 40 degrees that’s so cold until you’ve been here.  What, you don’t believe me?  No one outside of Houston ever believed me when I lived here either, but it’s totally true.  Just ask all the Houstonians I saw breaking out their fur coats at the Galleria tonight.

Ah, the Galleria.  Dedicated readers of this blog might wonder at my having been at the Mecca of malls so soon after my arrival in town since I’ve often avowed that I’m not a big shopper.  And, I had no plans to go to the mall this trip, even though my hotel offers a lovely complimentary shuttle service.

This is until I discovered one key piece of information upon checking in and beginning to unpack.  The black pants?  The pair that formed the foundation of my clever plan to pack lightly enough to carry on rather than check my bag?  Still oh-so-carefully arranged at the end of my bed at home.  I planned to leave them there so they wouldn’t get wrinkled before I packed them.  Instead, I just left them there.

So, I am now the owner of one lovely brand new pair of black work pants.  If only I hadn’t had to cancel dinner with the superintendent and another colleague tonight in order to go get them.  I just can’t wait to hear what they have to say about my packing expertise tomorrow morning!

1 Comment

Filed under Life in General, Work

One response to “It Was Such A Good Plan

  1. Oh dear! I can just imagine the feeling in the pit of your stomach when you realized where your pants are! Aaaack!

    I swear every single time that I go anywhere I forget *something*!

Leave a Reply

