Melancholy

I’m headed away from home today.  Not because I want to but because work commitments call again.  I have to be far away from Suburbia by noon tomorrow.  So far away that I can’t get a morning flight that arrives on time.  The unpleasant result of living in a city without a major airport is that my family had to drop me off for my flight this afternoon before they continued to enjoy the rest of the weekend, complete with a pom performance for DD2 and a trip to the circus with Grandma for the others.

The only good news is that this week marks the culmination of a project I’ve been working on since May, one that first took me away from home for a week last spring and has consumed countless hours both in the office and at home.  And, I wish I could say that I’m looking forward to this week.  Unfortunately, I’m just looking forward to it being over.  After this week, I have a short trip to Houston and a bit longer trip to Nevada both scheduled for the middle of November.  Then, I am going to try very, very hard not to schedule any more work travel for the rest of the school year.  Because all I really want to do right now is to stay home and focus on spending time with Adventure Guy and the kids.  Fortunately, this major travel surge will be ending just in time to prepare for the holidays, something I always truly enjoy doing.  I’m going to focus on that to get me through the next few days.

The work this week is likely to be so time consuming that I won’t be able to update here.  But, don’t worry, I’ll be back!

Leave a comment

Filed under Kids, Life in General, Work

Leave a Reply

