Soup, It’s What’s For Dinner

Okay, so, obviously, I’ve been unduly influenced by food marketing over the years…no, we’re not having beef for dinner tonight, but that slogan sure is catchy, isn’t it?  We’ll also continue to avoid undue use of high-fructose corn syrup, despite the fact that the lady on tv says it’s just fine since it’s “natural.”  Do the corn producers really think no one will make the connection regarding their vested interest in keeping consumption of that stuff high?

But, I digress.  Really, I do know what we’re having for dinner tonight.  It’s cool and rainy here in Suburbia, which immediately makes me think of soup.  We had one of my favorite easy meals, Taco Soup, recently, so this time I’m going to serve Chicken and Wild Rice Soup.  So, easy, and so yummy!

 

Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

  • 1  small onion, chopped
  • 1  cup  shredded carrots
  • 5  cups  water
  • 1  (6.2-ounce) package fast-cooking long-grain and wild rice mix
  • 1  (10-ounce) package frozen chopped broccoli
  • 2  cups  chopped cooked chicken
  • 1  (8-ounce) loaf pasteurized prepared cheese product, cubed
  • 1  (10 3/4-ounce) can cream of chicken soup, undiluted

Preparation

 Sauté onion and carrots in a lightly greased Dutch oven over medium heat 5 minutes. Add 5 cups water, seasoning packet from rice, broccoli, and chicken. Bring to a boil, and stir in rice; reduce heat, cover, and cook 5 minutes. Add cheese and soup; cook, stirring constantly, 5 minutes or until cheese melts. Serve immediately.

I’ll be serving some type of bread along with that, likely bread sticks, but I haven’t decided for sure.  I may pick up some of the organic bread from my favorite local shop if I have time. 

In addition, this would make a great base for a meal to take to a new mom.  There must be lots of people having babies out there lately because my “meals for new moms” tag is getting all kinds of hits.  I’ll be serving this soup, along with bread, mandarin orange green salad, and Theta Shoppe Vanilla Bars next month when I’m responsible for feeding the ladies at our monthly Junior League board meeting.  I’m sure any family with a new addition would appreciate that dinner as well!

3 Comments

Filed under Life in General, Recipes

3 responses to “Soup, It’s What’s For Dinner

  1. Marcia

    Mmmm, mmmm good! There’s another soup slogan 🙂

    (except for the broccoli…I’ll leave the broccoli out when I try it)

  2. LSM

    Well, I’ll admit that everyone in my family likes broccoli, but I can honestly say this soup is a great way to get some veggies without it tasting a lot like vegetables. Since the recipe uses frozen chopped broccoli, it ends up being really small pieces. But if you really don’t like broccoli, I was thinking this would be good with other veggies added in too. At the grocery store, I considered adding some diced winter squash or the like, but I didn’t try it.

  3. Pingback: Happy Halloween! « Somewhere In The Suburbs

Leave a Reply

