We Interrupt This Layover…

I am trying not to dwell on the fact that I am stuck at O’Hare–again.  At least this time it’s not a weather problem and I should actually get home tonight.  My 10:20 a.m. flight from Denver to DFW did not happen because of a hydraulics problem.  Unfortunately, flights to Suburbia are not frequent, and the best American Airlines could do was reroute me through Chicago and onto a flight that leaves at 8:30 p.m.

And did I mention that I only learned of this rerouting by calling the airline on my cell from the never-ending line at the gate?  I’d called as soon as I got off the first plane and was assured that the problem would be fixed soon and in time for me to make my connection.  I asked about the flight that I could see was leaving later at the next gate and was told I could do that but then I’d miss my connection and not be able to get in until 7:30.  I so should have booked it anyway!  I’m just thankful I called back and didn’t miss the flight here.  Yep, that’s customer service for you…fail to send enough gate agents to the cancelled flight to get all the passengers rebooked in person in a timely fashion but then rebook them anyway onto flights they may miss while they are busy standing in the long line as instructed.  Classic.

In an effort to distract myself, I have completed all the work projects I had with me (not enough for the amount of time wasted, but at least it’s something) and caught up on all my blog reading.  I’m now off to get some dinner and a well-deserved drink.

But before that, I’ll leave you with an updated puppy picture.

One of these little ones is ours!

One of these little ones is ours!

3 Comments

Filed under Life in General, Work

3 responses to “We Interrupt This Layover…

  1. O’Hare is the black hole of air travel. Good luck!

  2. Marcia

    Awww, I love little puppies!

    marcia

  3. I hate flying. There is always some sort of “issue” when traveling by plane.

    On a lighter note, at least you had the photos of your new baby to make you smile 🙂 Can’t wait to see the pictures as he grows up!

Leave a Reply

