HA! I Don’t Like This Theme

I’ve decided I’m not a fan of the September NaBloPoMo theme of HA!  I’ll work it in when I can, but I’m not going to try too hard from here on out.

But, on the HA! front I have two questionable but effective parenting moments to share.

First, is it wrong to bribe one’s son with Aunt Annie’s pretzels in order to get him to the mall long enough for a quick round of shoe shopping?  DD1 and DD2 both volunteered with our church youth group this afternoon doing some painting for a local home renovation charity.  That meant no babysitter for Soccer Boy.  Usually that would be no problem, but I really needed to run errands, including finding some new black pumps for work. 

We first started out at Bed, Bath, and Beyond getting him some new bed skirts to complete the bedding set we bought last month.  I didn’t realize they didn’t have bed skirts until we already had them opened and ready to use.  While there, I also picked up some cleaner for the new granite counters and stainless cooktop we just installed in the kitchen.  Then, the mall across the street beckoned me with promises of new shoes, and I couldn’t resist.  Soccer Boy agreed to shop with me and not complain or ask when we would leave as long as he could have a pretzel.  It seemed fair to me.  Unfortunately, the pretzel was the only thing we ended up buying.  What’s the deal with all the black pumps being patent?  I decided to shop online and then moved on to my next parenting coup of the day.

While at Bed, Bath, and Beyond, I spotted a product I’d seen on television and wanted to try.  We have two male dogs, and, unfortunately, before we had one of them fixed we had a bit of an “issue” with territory marking and carpet stains.  Since then, I’ve known that I didn’t really get the carpets as clean as I wanted, especially in the kids’ room.  So I bought the lovely kit with the black light to identify the hidden stains and a spray that promised to remove them.  I figured it was worth a try, and then I’m planning to have the carpets steam cleaned.

But here’s the great parenting moment part.  I told the kids it was “just like CSI” and put them to work using the light and finding and cleaning the stains.  It’s scary just how much that light identifies.  I need to make a trip back to the store for another bottle of cleaner!

2 Comments

Filed under Kids, Life in General

2 responses to “HA! I Don’t Like This Theme

  1. ramblingmom

    Cost of pretzel vs. cost of babysitter???

    I’m thinking you got a deal.

  2. Marcia

    Let me know how that spray works (and what it is if its good)….although I’m thinking our entire house would probably just glow.

Leave a Reply

