HA! HA! HA!

Life seemed intent on dealing me a series of “Gotcha” moments today.  Nothing terrible, just a series of challenges.

  • DD1 needed to go into school early to do make up work since she was out sick on Tuesday.  We planned to leave the house by 7:00 a.m., finally left at 7:10 a.m. and got to the exit from our neighborhood before realizing I’d forgotten to put the dinner I’d prepared last night on to cook in the crockpot.
  • Returned home; set up crock pot; left home again at 7:20 a.m.
  • 7:30 a.m. DD1 reports that her math teacher, whom she had gone in early to see, has a meeting and can’t help her.
  • Find myself with Soccer Boy and 45 minutes to kill before time to drop him at school.  Get donuts!
  • Learn that I have a deadline of tomorrow for a Junior League article I didn’t know I needed to write.  Write that instead of working on article I should be writing for work.
  • Plan to leave work a bit early to accomplish challenging feat of getting DD2 to dance class and Soccer Boy to practice both of which start at 5:30 p.m.  Find self right on schedule until after care program is interminably slow getting Soccer Boy back from the playground.
  • End up getting DD2 to class on time and Soccer Boy to practice 15 minutes late.

But in the midst of all the little annoyances, I had some fun moments as well.

  • Did I mention donuts with Soccer Boy?  Besides donuts, which I like far more than I should, spending a little one-on-one time with the little guy is always worth it.
  • A project I’ve literally been working on for a year is finalized and headed to the Board of Education for approval.  When I turned over those contracts to the administrative assistant who handles the agenda, I can’t even describe the excitement I felt.
  • I figured out how to upload files from my digital voice recorder to my PC all by myself.  That let me help DD1 with recording her playing test for orchestra without involving a cassette tape.  I mean, how 1990s is a cassette?
  • DD2 looked beautiful on her first day of ballet class–all classic in a black leotard, pink tights, and her white ballet skirt.  I’m working through the no gymnastics thing a bit better now.
  • DD1 and I laughed out loud, actually laughed while I helped quiz her on her social studies vocab.  The difference in attitude between this year and last is remarkable.  Well that and the fact that she typed the word “ear” rather than “era” on one of her flashcards.  Trust me, it was hilarious!

And on that note, I’m going to stop rambling.  Hopefully, I’ll have something a bit more inspired for the HA! theme tomorrow.

Leave a comment

Filed under Life in General

Leave a Reply

