HA! Is Right

So, this month’s NaBloPoMo theme is “Ha!”  That’s it:  “Ha.”  I’m not sure if I’ll follow through with the daily posting challenge this month or not, but I can’t certainly relate to the theme.

I am not a good single mother.  I feel truly fortunate that I don’t have to be one on a regular basis, and my heart and admiration go out to all who do.  From time to time I get asked the question, “How do you do it all?”  My answer is always, “I don’t!”  Adventure Guy and I are a team, and he definitely does his share of the parenting around here.

Except, of course, when he’s out-of-town.  Which he has officially been now since approximately 6:30 a.m. this morning.  By 7:00 p.m. I found myself standing in the kitchen yelling at my children.  And I hate it when I do that.  I don’t want to be a yeller.  My own mother never yelled.  This is not revisionist history, or wishful thinking.  It’s true.  My dad, on the other hand?  Yelled.  Who am I like?  Him.

By the time we arrived at the scene in the kitchen, I had managed to leave work early, take DD1 and DD2 to get dance gear (shoes, leotards, tights, jazz pants, wispy dance skirt) for DD2, buy two much-coveted Vera Bradley ID holders required by the ever-stylish girls who live in my house, pick up Soccer Boy from school, go by the convenience store to pick up a sports drink, deliver Soccer Boy to practice, buy dog food, drop off the girls at home, return to pick up Soccer Boy, and make homemade pizza for dinner–improvising with hamburger topping after learning that DD2 had snacked on the pepperoni I planned to use. 

None of this caused me to yell.  What put me over the edge was the bickering that started between DD2 and Soccer Boy the moment we walked in the door.  I ignored it for as long as I could.  I believe in letting kids work things out for themselves, really I do.  It was when Soccer Boy grabbed a catalog from DD2, knocking over a can of soda in the process that I lost it.  Well, that and the fact that DD1 had managed to drop a piece of pizza on the brand new carpet.  (Adventure Guy when you read this–hopefully later rather than sooner–don’t worry it all came out).

So what’s the HA! part of this post?  Well on my part it’s probably the fact that Adventure Guy will be gone until this time next week.  Yes, it’s only day one, and I’m already yelling.  Then again, the HA! part could be the fact that I have two trips of my own scheduled this month.

But whether I’m gone myself, he’s travelling, or we’re both here together, I’m going to let him know how much I appreciate having him around!

Leave a comment

Filed under Balance, Kids, Work

Leave a Reply

