I’m Sure They’re Good For Something

At about 7:15 this morning, Adventure Guy looked at me groggily and said, “And we wanted three children because?”

By that time, we had survived a 4:00 a.m. visit to our bedroom from Soccer Boy who declared his stomach hurt.  We got him set up with a trusty bedside trashcan, made sure he’d visited the bathroom, and told him to go back to sleep.  I only wish that I could have done the same.  Instead, I laid in bed thinking, “You have to get up in an hour to make it to the gym.  Go to sleep!”  Instead I tossed and turned and dozed here and there all while listening to Adventure Guy do the same.

My alarm went off at 5:30 a.m. which I took as a sign to get up and call the gym to leave a message for my trainer saying I wasn’t coming in due to a sick child.  She actually has a 5:00 a.m. standing appointment before me, so she was already there. 

Call made, I returned to bed and tried to sleep.  This time battling snores from Adventure Guy who, contrary to his later assertions, had indeed gone back to sleep.  Finally, I joined him around 6:30 or so, only to be awakened by DD1 thrusting a pile of papers in my face at 7:00 a.m.  After her fun-filled day at the lake yesterday, she’d forgotten to have me sign several things, including one form that required both parents’ signatures and our medical insurance information. 

I filled out the forms and signed some type of acknowledgement for her social studies class and then couldn’t resist a comment regarding how this type of thing should be taken care of over the weekend and not first thing in the morning.  To which she replied, “Well, I was tired last night.”

So then after my head stopped spinning around, I pointed out that I was tired right then.  She huffed off and got herself on the bus without saying goodbye.  Which by then, was fine with me.  DD2 on the other hand, nicely stopped in to tell us she was heading out.  I congratulated myself on having at least one child who wasn’t causing any problems.

Just as I settled in for the fifteen minutes or so of snooze time I had left, my cell phone rang.  You guessed it.  It was DD2 calling from the bus stop.  She had forgotten her school ID which she is required to wear for the first time this year.  Adventure Guy made the dash upstairs to get it and out the door to the bus stop all while hastily pulling on a pair of shorts.

By that time, I had decided I might as well get in the shower.  About twenty minutes later, I found myself ready in record time, only to find out that Adventure Guy needed me to wait to put Soccer Boy on the bus.  Typically, this schedule would have worked perfectly with my gym schedule for the day, but I had harbored hope that at least my difficult morning would get me in to work a bit early.

Those hopes dashed, I decided to settle for the next best thing–or maybe as it turns out, the first best thing.  I made myself a South Beach-friendly omelet for breakfast and dug in as I read the paper.  Then I took a deep breath and “started” my day!

Leave a comment

Filed under Kids, Life in General

Leave a Reply

