Surviving Chicken Fingers

So, I’ve been quiet about it, but after the eating free for all that was my weekend at home, I decided it’s time. Yes, time to do something about getting control over my eating.

I’m about ten to fifteen pounds over the weight I’d like to be right now. Not horribly overweight, but not really happy about the way I look. I’ve been up and down the scale over that range for the last two years or so. I’ve generally adapted to the whole “being 40” thing, but I hate how much harder it is these days to keep my weight in check. Plus, I have family history of high cholesterol and diabetes to think about.

And, yes, I’m exercising. But not enough. I’m doing great with my weight workouts–dutifully getting up at 5:30 a.m. twice a week to be at the gym by six. I’m definitely more toned, and I certainly work up a sweat, but I obviously need to do some cardio and watch my eating too if I’m going to lose the weight.

The point of all that rambling? I’m doing The South Beach Diet. My trigger foods are definitely sweets and carbs, so it’s a good plan for me. And, so far, I’m pretty pleased. Three days down, nine to go on Phase 1, the hardest part. As of this morning, I’m down two pounds. We’ll see how that holds out for the rest of the week.

And, as of now, I know I’m really committed. Because today at lunch, while Soccer Boy and Adventure Guy dug into the fabulous fried chicken fingers and cream gravy, I dutifully ate my salad and grilled chicken breast. And if that’s not commitment, I don’t know what is!

Leave a comment

Filed under Life in General

Leave a Reply

