Dinner In Suburbia: The Pictorial

You’d think after more than a year of having a wife who’s a blogger, Adventure Guy wouldn’t ask me things like, “Why are you taking pictures of our food?”  At least he didn’t seem surprised by my answer, “Because I’m going to blog about it!”

I loved reading all the great ideas people sent for dinner.  I will definitely be trying more than one of them.  But tonight, I ended up taking some inspiration from several of the comments and then coming up with something on my own.

The final results…

When I got home from work, I threw the chicken breasts in to marinate in some lemon juice and some chopped oregano and mint from my herb pot while I heated the grill.  Then I seasoned them with garlic powder, lemon pepper, and season salt plus a bit more of the herb mixture.  They needed about 15 minutes on each side over medium heat on a slightly oiled grill. 

While the chicken cooked, I made the rice and put together the salad.  It’s one of my favorites, the Mandarin Orange Salad with Tarragon Dressing.  All we needed to finish off the meal was this beautiful loaf of challah I picked up at the highly-addictive bread store in town.

Let’s just say I’m glad I got two loaves of the challah today!  But I have a leftover chicken breast to make into chicken salad for lunch.  Easy meal, leftovers…I’d call that a definite dinner success!

2 Comments

Filed under Life in General

2 responses to “Dinner In Suburbia: The Pictorial

  1. You don’t want to know what I had for dinner last night. Hey I gave you a blog award. Come check it out!

  2. Your dinner is beautiful! My Home-Ec teacher would have given you an A+ because your meal is colorful, and it contains all of the food groups!

    My hubby now realizes that I take pictures of EVERYTHING – just in case I need some additional blog fodder!

Leave a Reply

