A Little Question For You

Am I the only one who’s a little creeped out by hotel robes?  I’ve had the opportunity to stay at the Portofino Bay Hotel in Orlando for these past few days, and I highly recommend it if you’re planning a trip to Universal Studios any time soon.  It’s beautiful, and the service is excellent. 

Just one thing, though. my fellow speakers for this conference raved after the first night about the lovely robes provided in each room.  They talked about cozying up in them while getting ready in the morning and feeling pampered.  As any frequent reader of my blog knows, I am not adverse to some pampering.  But hotel robes never tempt me.  I can’t help thinking about the fact that I don’t personally own said robe.  I know that theoretically they are laundered after each guest, but I have no way of guaranteeing that, do I?

So, am I just weird?  Anyone else out there with a hotel robe avoidance issue?

 

P. S. Thanks for the good vibes yesterday!  Our presentations went well.  I’ll be travelling back to Suburbia in a few hours.  Can’t wait to see the kids and Adventure Guy!

6 Comments

Filed under Life in General, Work

6 responses to “A Little Question For You

  1. Rachel

    I can’t help thinking about the fact that I don’t personally own said robe. I know that theoretically they are laundered after each guest, but I have no way of guaranteeing that, do I?

    Interesting. What makes robes seem different than sheets and towels?

    Glad to year the presentation went well!

  2. ramblingmom

    I don’t typically stay in places that have “hotel robes” :}.

  3. Ohhh, I love the Portofino. It’s such a pretty, comfortable hotel. Lucky you!

    I don’t have robe issues… just hotel bedspread and TV remote issues. Like Rachel, I see the robes the same way I see the sheets and towels.

  4. I think I’ve only been in a hotel with a robe once; I put it on and wore it pretty much the whole time I was there. It was soft and cuddly and I wanted my money’s worth!

  5. oldbluesocks

    I honestly had never considered that they wouldn’t be laundered.

  6. I am with you on this one. No doubt about it. I have noticed that hotel robes amost always look new. Any robe that I have seen that has been washed a couple times does not have that new look to it. With that in mind, I have even gone so far as to check out the cart that the maids wheel around and did not see the replacement robes on the cart. My thoughts were that if they can get away with just retying the belt just so, they do not have to go the extra steps to replace the robe with a fresh version.

    Like you, I am not a “robe person” in general, so I have just decided to skip the robes in hotels too!

Leave a Reply

