Playing Hooky

My family left town this morning at 5:30 a.m. (yes, really!) and I slept unitl noon.  In my defense, I did get up to tell them goodbye before crawling back into bed for “just a little bit longer.”

I was embarrassed when I realized how late I’d slept.  Fortunately, my hosts only made fun of me a little–well, more than a little, but I probably deserved that.  I am officially on vacation from work today, so I just checked emails a few times and decided to take advantage of my day back in Houston.  We lived here for six years in the early 90s, and it’s amazing to see how much this area has developed since then.  Each time I slog through the traffic and witness the urban sprawl–not to mention the heat, I realize we made the right decision to move to Suburbia.  It’s a much better fit for me.

My friend and I had some lunch at home then did a little window shopping at one of the new outdoor malls, visited a book store, and ran through the scrapbooking store.  Then tonight, we’re going to my all-time favorite Mexican food place, Lupe Tortilla.  I so wish they existed outside of the Houston area!

And then, I may even take a nice dip in the backyard pool before I face reality and return to work tomorrow.  I’ll be going to a conference here, which is a great gig if you can get it.  I’ve already printed out the schedule of fitness classes so that I can fit (no pun intended) some in before its time to fly home on Friday.  I may even see if I can wrangle a spa treatment of some type for tomorrow afternoon before the conference kicks off.

This summer is flying by.  I can’t believe it’s already July!  It will be time for all the back-to-school activities before we know it!  I’m going to try to take a few deep breaths and enjoy this down time while I can!

And, by the way, am I just incredibly boring lately, or what?  I haven’t had a comment in ages…and I know you’re out there, I can see you on my stat counter. 

Okay, enough shameless begging for feedback, it’s time to go to dinner!

4 Comments

Filed under Life in General, Work

4 responses to “Playing Hooky

  1. heidilou

    You’re not boring at all!

  2. FWIW, I have experienced big gaps in commenting too. What is *really* funny is that my comments come almost exclusively from NON August moms! It’s all the people I’ve found from NaBloPoMo or just on my own who talk to me – but the moms are largely silent 🙂

    I understand though – I went through weeks of not commenting due to lack of time. So I am trying to spread a little more love over the summer to catch up.

  3. oldbluesocks

    I’m not the slightest bit bored! (Just busy!).

  4. Darci

    I admit tonight that I’m catching up on your blogs from back in mid June. In good ‘ole NYS we only have about 2 1/2 months of nice weather (smile) so I’m outside 24/7 during that time.
    Thanks for your continued additions though. I really enjoy them when I do take the time to read!

Leave a Reply

